Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Will this cheap 3500 watt induction burner work?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
GoNova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GoNova's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 129
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Will this cheap 3500 watt induction burner work?

***UPDATE***

I appreciate all the posts to this thread. I decided to move to induction brewing and haven't looked back. IT IS AWESOME. Use the link below for details and pictures. I hope this is helpful to those interested in making the switch.

http://www.mainlinebrewers.com/proje...ction-brewing/

For a great article on induction brewing, see the BYO article below.

https://byo.com/component/k2/item/2967-induction-heat

************

I am exploring the jump to electric brewing and found this very reasonably priced induction burner. Can you guys think of any reason why it would not work? I suspect my brew kettle will be larger than the burner. Will that be a problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Avantco-IC3500.../dp/B00514BTJ6

Would this just plug right into my 240 dryer outlet?

Any other things I should be thinking about?

Excuse my ignorance, but I'm just starting to learn about electric brewing.

Cheers.

__________________
GoNova is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Biohazard
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canyon Lake, CA
Posts: 104
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

What kind of brew pot do you have? Induction cooking requires good contact between the pan and cooktop. A keggle wouldnt work well, and I would suggest a stainless steel pot. I know more about the cooktop than I do brewing so I will leave that to the experts around here. Worse off you would have to use a heatstick depending on your batch size.

__________________
Biohazard is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 11:40 PM   #3
Lennie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 555
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have a triple-layer bottom on my SS kettle and it is magnetic. Once I insulated it I could get a boil on 4gal with an 1800W induction burner. Theres no guarantee that a SS pot will be magnetic, check it first with a magnet (fridge magnet is good enough).

Yes I believe the burner would plug in the 240V outlet.

__________________
Lennie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #4
GoNova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GoNova's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 129
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks guys. I do have a stainless pot. Is it ok if the diameter of the pot exceeds the diameter of the burner?

__________________
GoNova is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 02:46 PM   #5
WAORGANY
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
WAORGANY's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Northern NY, NY
Posts: 471
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoNova View Post
Thanks guys. I do have a stainless pot. Is it ok if the diameter of the pot exceeds the diameter of the burner?
Yeah it just needs to be magnetic and MOST SS pots are not!
__________________

RLTW!

WAORGANY is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 03:33 PM   #6
Biohazard
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canyon Lake, CA
Posts: 104
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Not sure on the plug part, I know my dryer certainly doesnt look like the plug shown on this site:
Plug Picture

__________________
Biohazard is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Lennie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 555
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Looks like a standard 240V plug to me, three prong with one sideways to the other. Hard to tell the actual size though.

Definitely check your pot to be sure its magnetic.

My pot hangs over the sides of the hotplate a couple of inches. It really doesn't matter except if the hotplate will hold the weight. I've heard of people putting wooden spacers under the overhanging edges of the pot to hold some/all of the weight. Induction will work as long as the bottom is within 0.5" of the cooking surface, at least I've read that.

__________________
Lennie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 06:06 PM   #8
JustLooking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 463
Liked 67 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennie View Post
Induction will work as long as the bottom is within 0.5" of the cooking surface, at least I've read that.
Anyone know more about this? For weight reasons it would be good if you could support your pot on the outer edges a little above the burner. But the website say that the cooker automatically switches itself to standby mode when the cookware is removed from the cooking surface. I wonder if this is controlled by weight or the induction current being recognized?
__________________
JustLooking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 06:26 PM   #9
Lennie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 555
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The instructions with my little 1800W Max Burton burner state that the pan has to be within 1.5" of the burner surface. I'd read the 1/2" value on another thread here on Homebrewtalk.

__________________
Lennie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 06:42 PM   #10
JustLooking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 463
Liked 67 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

Does yours have the "automatically switch to standby when the cookware is removed" feature?

__________________
JustLooking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Burner Recommendations? matts Electric Brewing 16 10-16-2014 11:51 PM
Induction Burner nanofreak Electric Brewing 21 01-27-2014 06:36 PM
3000 Watt Induction for the electrically challenged? ayoungrad Electric Brewing 33 04-26-2013 10:25 PM
1800 watt induction boils how much wort? bigdaddybrew Electric Brewing 13 02-06-2012 11:34 PM
Induction??? Katie225 Electric Brewing 1 10-26-2011 07:20 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS