Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > underatanding how much power i have to work with
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2011, 08:34 PM   #1
phoenixs4r
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, California
Posts: 1,506
Liked 54 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default underatanding how much power i have to work with

So, I'm building an electric / gas hybrid brew stand. Nat gas for the BK, electric for the MT with rims, and trying to decide if I should go electric for the HLT. I figured how much electricity I have would detirmine that.

The breaker panel in the garage used to supply a HUGE pump that the landlord had to power his hot tub, it's 2 pull (I think? There's two tabs to turn on or off) and they both say 50. Does this mean 50 total or I have 100 amps to play with? It also links to another panel that is empty.



forumrunner_20111203_133351.jpg



forumrunner_20111203_133333.jpg

phoenixs4r is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 09:31 PM   #2
Bachhus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 126
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Short answer is you have 50amp's of 220 volt power. The second panel looks like it is for those larege cylinder shaped fuses common for older hot tub set ups.

I can't make out the wires coming into the pannel but if there are 4 total, green, white, red and black then you can in theory get 110 and 220 to your brew rig out of that pannel assuming you do not have 110 already in the area. But you need to know what your doing before you start wiring that kind of set up.

If you are only going to be using one element at a time there is no reason you cant go full electric for everything because the most one of the 6600w elements pulls is around 24amp's.

__________________
Bachhus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2011, 10:16 PM   #3
phoenixs4r
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, California
Posts: 1,506
Liked 54 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

Just red black and white unfortunately. There is 110 near by though, so as long as the march pump doesn't draw too many amps I should be fine as far as 110 goes.

That's pretty cool. Should be able to run a 2000w for the rims and something near 4000w for the hot eh? Is 2000w enough for rims for a 10 gallon batch?

phoenixs4r is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 05:46 PM   #4
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixs4r
Just red black and white unfortunately. There is 110 near by though, so as long as the march pump doesn't draw too many amps I should be fine as far as 110 goes.

That's pretty cool. Should be able to run a 2000w for the rims and something near 4000w for the hot eh? Is 2000w enough for rims for a 10 gallon batch?
My rims is 1125w for my ten gal batches and that's plenty... If I did it again, or if I blow this one, I might go less. I'd start getting worried about scorching if I went higher.
__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
HopSecret Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #5
phoenixs4r
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, California
Posts: 1,506
Liked 54 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

Is that just keeping temp tho? I wanted to make sure I could step mash if I ever decide to do it.

phoenixs4r is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 06:06 PM   #6
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,974
Liked 432 Times on 353 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Just use the hot tub as your HLT.

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 08:42 PM   #7
phoenixs4r
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, California
Posts: 1,506
Liked 54 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Just use the hot tub as your HLT.
It's no longer on the premises

Just the pump sitting on the ground
__________________
phoenixs4r is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 09:21 PM   #8
zeus53219
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
zeus53219's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 294
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixs4r View Post
Just red black and white unfortunately. There is 110 near by though, so as long as the march pump doesn't draw too many amps I should be fine as far as 110 goes.

That's pretty cool. Should be able to run a 2000w for the rims and something near 4000w for the hot eh? Is 2000w enough for rims for a 10 gallon batch?
"Just red black and white unfortunately." Panels look grounded to me. Is the green wire running back to your main panel? The red and black wires are each a leg of 110v and the white is a common. I wouldn't run a separate circuit for your pump, Pending on the model of your march pump, they only run like 1.5amps max. Tap off the black(wire) leg in your control panel and the common to a 110v outlet you want to control the pump with. I run a 1650w ULWD element in my RIMS and 2 5500w elements for the BK and HLT with two pumps and I'm only running off a 40amp breaker. I am not running both 5500w elements at the same time of course. I'd go all electric if I was you, you have the power right there, all you need is a GFI. But that's just me.
__________________
zeus53219 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2011, 04:01 PM   #9
phoenixs4r
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hayward, California
Posts: 1,506
Liked 54 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus53219

"Just red black and white unfortunately." Panels look grounded to me. Is the green wire running back to your main panel? The red and black wires are each a leg of 110v and the white is a common. I wouldn't run a separate circuit for your pump, Pending on the model of your march pump, they only run like 1.5amps max. Tap off the black(wire) leg in your control panel and the common to a 110v outlet you want to control the pump with. I run a 1650w ULWD element in my RIMS and 2 5500w elements for the BK and HLT with two pumps and I'm only running off a 40amp breaker. I am not running both 5500w elements at the same time of course. I'd go all electric if I was you, you have the power right there, all you need is a GFI. But that's just me.
No, there's a lot of shady wiring going on there, if I took bigger pictures of the area you would see it. I bribed my electrician over to ttake a look at the panel for some beer lol. He told me due to age, I'm looking at more of a 30amp cap, and the manufacturer of the panel does not make GFCI breakers for it, so I'm guessing to play it safe, I'd run the output of this panel to a spa panel that folks talk about a lot on here?

What would be the smallest element I could get away with in a keggle HLT that can get 15~ gallons up to mash out temps in less then an hour?
__________________
Cabikegorator - the cabinet refrigerator project.
phoenixs4r is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2011, 06:24 PM   #10
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,812
Liked 55 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Go to home depot, and get a 50A, $50 GFCI spa panel, bribe your electrician to come over and hook it up for you, and wire it into a 4 wire dryer outlet. Then you can run heaters and pumps off of one source, and have GFCI protection.

__________________

Reason: forgot the link...
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools