Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Two Elements - 30A?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2011, 08:58 PM   #1
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Two Elements - 30A?

I have a 30A dryer outlet available and want to run a RIMS element and a Kettle element - both 5500W. The RIMS element will be wired 120V (~1375W?) and I would like to wire the kettle element to be selectable for 120v or 240v. I will run 240V during boil only (the RIMS element will be off) and what I want to know is can I run both the RIMS element and the kettle element (at 120V) at the same time? While recirculating the mash, I would like to heat up the sparge water in the kettle with 120v. I will also be running two pumps at this time. I think this is getting too close to 30 amps. (~11.5A each element + 2A/pump + 1A controls).

I know this would not be a problem with a HERMs setup, but I am using a rubbermaid cooler for the HLT and am not planning on upgrading to SS any time soon.

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

If the above would work, this is what I think it should look like: (intentionally left out the SSRs and PID, etc. for simplicity)



What I would like however, is a way to not allow the second element to energize if the selector switch for the first element is on 240V. Any thoughts on this?

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 10:14 PM   #3
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Theoretically, you can. I wouldn't do it (it's too close to the limit, for comfort), but, if you have to, I'd recommend you run heater "1" off of line 2, instead of line 1. That way you're basically running both heaters in series, at 240V (each heater will run on 120V), and you'd be cutting the total heater consumption to 11.5A. And, should one of the heaters short circuit, you still have the neutral as protection.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 10:17 PM   #4
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Sorry, I didn't see the second question.

You can do that by wiring a free set of contacts in the contactor (the middle one in your drawing) to enable the bottom contactor only when it's on.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 10:33 PM   #5
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,434
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts

Default

5500W is massive overkill for a RIMS element, isn't it? From what I've read on here, most have 1500W RIMS elements.

bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 10:46 PM   #6
nevertrustahipie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: raleigh
Posts: 43
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

You should definitely fuse both of the heaters between the heater and the contactor.

I don't know if you left this off for simplicity, but I would also supply the common hot line (L1 per your drawing, or L2 per Inodoro_Pereyra's suggestion) to the top heater through a terminal block with a jumper bar and appropriately sized fuses between the contactors and the terminal block.

Remember, the breaker in the main panel is your last line of defense, and should be supplemented with proper protection for each load.

__________________
nevertrustahipie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 11:05 PM   #7
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I absolutely agree on the fuses. Didn't say it before, because I assumed you didn't draw them for simplicity purposes, but, if you weren't planning to use them, I strongly suggest you do.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 11:38 PM   #8
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin_ale View Post
5500W is massive overkill for a RIMS element, isn't it? From what I've read on here, most have 1500W RIMS elements.
I was planning on running the 5500W element at 120V which should effectively be 1375W, unless I am mistaken. The reason for running this element is that I thought that would give me the least watt density.

Thanks all for the advice. I will be sure to use supplementary line protection, either fuses or additional breakers.
__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 06:09 PM   #9
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aludwig View Post
I was planning on running the 5500W element at 120V which should effectively be 1375W, unless I am mistaken. The reason for running this element is that I thought that would give me the least watt density.
Yep, you're right on both.
But maybe Bruin_ale was referring to the element you'd be running on 240V??
__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 06:11 PM   #10
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,434
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts

Default

I was confused, I didn't realize he intended to use one of them at half voltage. Didn't really read the post and saw 5500W RIMs element and thought WHOA, scorch-orama.

__________________
San Jose Homebrew Club - The Grain Trust
bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've been using HWD Elements for a while now. p-nut Electric Brewing 18 05-04-2011 07:53 PM
Mounting Elements in Keggles Cpt_Kirks Electric Brewing 3 04-02-2011 09:38 PM
Help! New EBK burning elements Arazcamaro Electric Brewing 25 02-18-2011 02:40 PM
Do elements HAVE to be LD/ULD? mattd2 Electric Brewing 27 12-13-2010 10:57 PM
Running Elements in a series JVD_X Electric Brewing 2 10-13-2010 05:25 PM