Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Troubleshooting help
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 03:54 PM   #41
tunaboatbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBow View Post
Ok, I just can't see where the 2 power lines to your PID are coming from - I see the one small red wire coming off the main white, but don't see the other power line coming off the main black.

These guys know more than I do tho, I'm sure you'll get it figured out.
I do not have a wire running from the large black power wire to the PID. I only have 120 VAC going to the PID. I don't believe I need 240 VAC to it. The small black wire connects to the large green wire at the terminal for the ground going to the PID
__________________
tunaboatbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:20 PM   #42
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ok, but I don't think the PID needs to be grounded. It needs 2 wires for power tho - either 2 hot lines for 240 or 1 hot & 1 neutral for 120.

Hopefully someone can back me up on this....

Then again you are getting some power since your PID is on and you're getting a temp reading, right?

So I could be way off....

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:23 PM   #43
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBow View Post
Ok, but I don't think the PID needs to be grounded. It needs 2 wires for power tho - either 2 hot lines for 240 or 1 hot & 1 neutral for 120.

Hopefully someone can back me up on this....
Exactly. No ground.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:27 PM   #44
OMJ
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Camp Hill, PA
Posts: 582
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

For this setup you should really have 4 wires coming into your box. 2 hots a neutral and a ground. Seems like you dont have a ground since you are getting power to the PID.

I think the wiring diagram you showed is based on a 120v setup but it is hard to tell without seeing the context of where it was originally posted.

__________________
OMJ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #45
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,958
Liked 778 Times on 518 Posts
Likes Given: 531

Default

He should be able to power the pid with 240v. Then a neutral is not needed in this system. As I said earlier, if the green is equipment ground the pid may trip a gfi upstream which I hope is part of the plan.

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:41 PM   #46
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

But you still need both hots to power with 240 right? not just 1 and a ground?

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 05:16 PM   #47
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,958
Liked 778 Times on 518 Posts
Likes Given: 531

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBow View Post
But you still need both hots to power with 240 right? not just 1 and a ground?
Yes. That's correct.
__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 05:19 PM   #48
mimur
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I can't see a low voltage DC supply to control the SSR. The SSR you are using looks like it needs a 12VDC control supply.
Can you take a better photo of your external SSR?
The PID should also have a schematic of some sort on the side of it.

__________________
mimur is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 05:21 PM   #49
tunaboatbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 40
Default

I'm having trouble keeping this straight, but hopefully it's the issue. I should have 240 vac going to the PID from the terminal strip? Does that mean one wire from the white connector and one wire from the black connector? Should they both connect to #2 on the PID? Or one to 1 and one to 2? Do I not need a wire running from the green terminal to the PID at all?

Here is the SSR
http://www.kegkits.com/Merchant2/mer...ory_Code=EBREW

__________________
tunaboatbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 05:32 PM   #50
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Yes, both hots to the PID, no ground to the PID.
Check your manual, but I think you just wire both hots to the same PID terminals as you would for a 120 setup. You're just swapping out the neutral for another hot.
Again, check your documents to make sure.

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting help SpaceCoastBrew Electric Brewing 29 12-29-2011 05:53 PM
Need a little help troubleshooting pmkealiher Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 09-10-2011 09:51 PM
troubleshooting fata2683 Bottling/Kegging 5 06-01-2010 08:21 PM
Troubleshooting my Wit secinarot All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 06-09-2009 06:36 PM
Troubleshooting at an IPA mongrell General Techniques 13 06-11-2008 08:35 PM