Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Temp probe wiring
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2013, 03:45 AM   #1
theQ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: La Crosse, Wisconsin
Posts: 265
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default Temp probe wiring

Hello,

I was wondering if what's the wattage consumed by the temperature probe, could I wire them with a phone cable (8 wires 24awg each)

Looked at some diagrams and some recommend 22awg but I wonder why

Thanks in advance!
Q

__________________
theQ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 06:28 AM   #2
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

The temp probe does not consume any power. What you wire the probe with depends on what type of probe you are using.

If you are using a thermocouple, it should have come with a coil of wire attached & that wire needs to run back to your controller. You can splice in an extension but the splice has to be at the same temperature as your controller or you will introduce an error. Splice in another wire up close to the pot and you will be introducing some serious measurement error & may not get a measurement at all.

If it's a thermistor you could use anything providing the wire does not add any resistance to the circuit.

If it's a RTD then you can splice but make sure that all of your connections are solid. The third lag of the RTD is a loop back from one side of the RTD & is used to average out the wire resistance. And adding any resistance difference between leads will affect accuracy.

__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 336
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I had this same question recently and did some research and came up empty. I wanted to be safe so I ended up ordering the same exact cord extension from Auber for my RTDs. My question is what's the best way to splice them together to keep them accurate? Solder? Wire nut? Terminal block?

Thanks.

__________________
Hop Rehab Electric Brewery

Keg 1: The Electric S'more Stout
Keg 2: Sorachi Ace Clone
Keg 3: Bourbon Barrel Porter
Keg 4: Two-hearted Ale clone

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Lemongrass Wheat Kolsch
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 01:09 PM   #4
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 373
Liked 28 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default

Solder and heat shrink provide the most reliable splice.

__________________
wubears71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 01:23 PM   #5
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 336
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Ok thanks, that was my thought but wanted to be sure the solder itself wouldn't introduce some resistance that would throw off the temp reading.

__________________
Hop Rehab Electric Brewery

Keg 1: The Electric S'more Stout
Keg 2: Sorachi Ace Clone
Keg 3: Bourbon Barrel Porter
Keg 4: Two-hearted Ale clone

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Lemongrass Wheat Kolsch
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 01:50 PM   #6
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 373
Liked 28 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smittygouv30 View Post
Ok thanks, that was my thought but wanted to be sure the solder itself wouldn't introduce some resistance that would throw off the temp reading.
No issues there as long as you have a well soldered, insulated connection.
__________________
wubears71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 01:54 PM   #7
wubears71
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wubears71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Webster Groves, MO
Posts: 373
Liked 28 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default

By the way, here is a link for good quality RTD wiring.

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/..._Wire/RTD_Wire

The only benefit of using RTD wiring over say doorbell wiring is the wire color standard. You can just as easily extend your RTDs using doorbell or Phone wiring as long as you use the same gauge or replace the wire all the way to the connector. Mixing wire sizes can cause issues. Heck, you can even use 24 ga CAT-6.

__________________
wubears71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2013, 02:15 PM   #8
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 336
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Sweet, thanks again. I am a little bummed I paid 20$ for 12' of RTD extension wiring with shipping when I could've used wiring that I probably having laying around the garage anyway.

__________________
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp. Probe wiring question Im_Lars Electric Brewing 8 01-28-2013 04:45 PM
Help with temp probe on TSS2 wiring Skrimpy Fermenters 3 03-22-2012 08:53 PM
Love controller temp probe wiring help schristian619 Brew Stands 5 01-23-2012 06:25 PM
Correct wiring of Brewers Hardware Temp Probe to BCS HungusBrews Brew Stands 16 01-18-2012 04:10 PM
BCS temp probe wiring bullywee Electric Brewing 2 01-09-2011 10:45 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS