Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Temp display with RTD input?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 09:21 PM   #1
nostalgia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Port Murray, NJ
Posts: 2,400
Liked 58 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Temp display with RTD input?

I'd like to add MLT temp monitoring to my control panel. I won't be running any elements, so I don't need a controller, just a display. I already have an RTD sensor, so I'd like it to work with RTD instead of a thermocouple.

Weird thing is, the ones I've found are the same price or more than a PID.

Anyone know of something a little more reasonable? I'd just suck it up and buy a PID but they're very deep and would make things very uncomfortable in my control box.

-Joe

__________________
Man Skirt Brewing Co. Website Beer related hints, tips, calculators, links and other good stuff.
MSB Facebook Page Find out what I'm brewing or building! Project Benderator is in full swing.
Fisher Woodcraft wood turning
nostalgia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2011, 10:07 PM   #2
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

I ran into the same thing. Ultimately I ended up with a BCS.

Since you are just monitoring, you might check ebay for a used PID. I found a new Fuji PID and got it for like $10 on ebay.

Good luck.

Ed

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 02:22 PM   #3
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,772
Liked 29 Times on 25 Posts

Default

There are some cheap ones on Ebay but they probably won't take your RTD.

__________________

Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 02:36 PM   #4
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 33 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

In order to get a reliable and accurate reading the display unit needs to be calibrated to the RTD probe. Once the pieces to do that are in place, the only additional piece of hardware required to offer PID control is a relay. I couldn't build something like that for less than $30 bucks.

Tell yah what though, I might have a chinese PID controller from ebay sitting around the house. I will let it go for $20. If you're interested shoot me a PM and I will look around for it.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS temp probe wiring bullywee Electric Brewing 2 01-09-2011 10:45 PM
Advice on temp. contorl project mgtorsch Electric Brewing 10 01-05-2011 06:34 PM
need input on control panel SpaceCoastBrew Electric Brewing 13 10-28-2010 03:28 PM
How Many Temp Inputs EHERMS Brewers? EuBrew Electric Brewing 10 10-13-2010 11:29 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS