*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > System Power/E-Stop
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2011, 02:49 PM   #1
Jandro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18
Default System Power/E-Stop

Hi all. I'm working on wiring diagrams for my electric build. Before I get too deep into things I'd like to make sure I'm on the right track with my mains power switch/e-stop circuit. Below is a diagram of what I had in mind. Seems a little different from some of the other diagrams I've seen and I want to make sure I'm not missing anything. Thanks in advance for the feedback.

__________________

Last edited by Jandro; 02-10-2011 at 02:58 PM.
Jandro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 03:05 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

I do not believe it will work the way you want it to unless you use a specific E-Stop switch. To pick the contactor, 2POS/NO must be switched on. Then when you hit the E-Stop it will drop. What happens when you let go of the E-Stop. It will work if the E-Stop is a locking type switch and not a momentary contact switch.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 03:20 PM   #3
Boerderij_Kabouter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 8,461
Liked 119 Times on 103 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

That is a fine circuit. I assume because you indicate and E-stop you will in fact use an E-stop switch, in which case it is fine. The only issue I see is finding an affordable contactor, but you can always find things if you look hard enough.

Boerderij_Kabouter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 03:51 PM   #4
Jandro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boerderij_Kabouter View Post
That is a fine circuit. I assume because you indicate and E-stop you will in fact use an E-stop switch, in which case it is fine. The only issue I see is finding an affordable contactor, but you can always find things if you look hard enough.
Yes, the plan is to use an actual e-stop switch (AutomationDirect GCX1226-120L). Auber sells 40A 2 pole 120v coil contactors for $18, which isn't too bad. Since I'm only planning a 30A system (for now) a 40A contactor for mains should be fine.
__________________

Last edited by Jandro; 02-10-2011 at 03:57 PM.
Jandro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 04:08 PM   #5
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: hudson, wi
Posts: 564
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

The auber 40 amp contactor is rated for a 50 amp resistive load. In the typical electric brewery (if there is such a thing), most of the load is resistive. The only exception would be the pumps but they pull less than 1.5 amps each.

__________________
stevehaun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 04:21 PM   #6
Jandro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehaun View Post
The auber 40 amp contactor is rated for a 50 amp resistive load. In the typical electric brewery (if there is such a thing), most of the load is resistive. The only exception would be the pumps but they pull less than 1.5 amps each.
So what you're saying is a 40 amp contactor is more than enough?
__________________
Jandro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 05:47 PM   #7
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: hudson, wi
Posts: 564
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

If you have a 30 amp system, the 30 amp contactor would be sufficient. It is rated for a 40 amp resistive load so even this is slight overkill. There is a difference in the connectors between the 30 amp (screw clamp) and 40 amp (lug). If you think you might go bigger (50 amp) someday, you might as well spend the extra 3 or 4 dollars and get the 40 amp.

__________________
stevehaun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 05:58 PM   #8
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: hudson, wi
Posts: 564
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Search ebay as well for definite purpose contactor. You just need to know the number of poles (2), resistive amps (min=30), and coil voltage (120 vac). You can find great deals on industrial quality components, switches, SSRs, and PIDs if you do your homework and know what you are looking for. That said, shopping ebay can be time consuming and if you are buying other stuff from auber anyway, it may be simpler to just buy there.

__________________
stevehaun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 05:59 PM   #9
Jandro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehaun View Post
If you have a 30 amp system, the 30 amp contactor would be sufficient. It is rated for a 40 amp resistive load so even this is slight overkill. There is a difference in the connectors between the 30 amp (screw clamp) and 40 amp (lug). If you think you might go bigger (50 amp) someday, you might as well spend the extra 3 or 4 dollars and get the 40 amp.
Nice catch on the different connections. I had missed that.
__________________
Jandro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2011, 06:40 PM   #10
Jandro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehaun View Post
Search ebay as well for definite purpose contactor. You just need to know the number of poles (2), resistive amps (min=30), and coil voltage (120 vac). You can find great deals on industrial quality components, switches, SSRs, and PIDs if you do your homework and know what you are looking for. That said, shopping ebay can be time consuming and if you are buying other stuff from auber anyway, it may be simpler to just buy there.
I know what you mean about ebay being time consuming. I'm about done sourcing parts for the plumbing side of the new setup, just starting to put together my shopping lists for the control panel and related electrics.
__________________
Jandro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
enough power for a 10 gallon boil? Stellrbrewr Electric Brewing 11 06-12-2011 07:49 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 03:57 AM
Power/E-stop Wiring for 2 inputs (120V & 220V) thelorax121 Electric Brewing 15 02-03-2011 01:58 AM
On/Off Power Controller? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 01-29-2011 07:29 AM
How much power for 12-15 gallons? stockwes Electric Brewing 32 12-15-2010 05:52 AM