Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Switch at different voltage
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2011, 09:49 PM   #1
njbabs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 50
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Switch at different voltage

I'm wondering if a switches amperage rating changes as the voltage on it changes.

For example, I have a switch rated at 660V and 10A. I'm wondering if this can handle switching a 240V 30A load (in lieu of a power relay for a 240V 5500W element).

Thanks for any help.

__________________
njbabs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2011, 09:58 PM   #2
EarthBound
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 984
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

Yes, a switch's amp rating does change as the voltage changes, but we can't tell you exactly what the different ratings may be. Only the manufacturer can tell you. IMO, you shouldn't have that kind of current running through a switch. The switch should activate a relay that can handle the current.

__________________

"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

EarthBound is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2011, 11:30 PM   #3
pjohnson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default More specific switch ratings

The values provided for amps and voltage are maximums per the manufacturer. It is not uncommon for a switch to have a different rating at a lower voltage, but it should not be assumed. In most cases, if a switch has multiple ratings they will be listed on the switch, or in the manufacturer's documentation.

The thermal stress on a switch is a function of the amps no matter what voltage is applied, so there will be a limit to the amps any switch can carry. Opening and closing creates arcing and mechanical forces that can vary based on voltage and current, and type of load. Stay within the rated value(s) for the switch.

__________________
pjohnson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage test on PID/SSR Psych Electric Brewing 5 01-21-2013 07:05 PM
switch terminology bruin_ale Electric Brewing 15 02-17-2011 12:00 AM
control panel on/off switch stevehaun Electric Brewing 3 12-18-2010 04:49 PM
What kind of switch is this? terrazza Electric Brewing 3 12-11-2010 02:37 AM
Simple switch question wilceaser Electric Brewing 2 11-18-2010 05:22 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS