Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Sub Panel Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2011, 03:29 PM   #1
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default Sub Panel Question

My breaker box is full, so I will need to run a sub panel to supply power to my brewery.

I have a douple pole 30amp breaker in my main panel now that runs our electric dryer. I plan on removing the 30amp, and replace it with a 50 amp. I will then run the power from the 50amp to the sub panel and place both the 30amp for the dryer, and a 50 amp for the brewery. (Only one will run at a time, obviously)

My question is, does the GFI breaker need to be the breaker in the sub, or the breaker in the main?

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
Dwain
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hill Country, TX
Posts: 1,137
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I believe that most codes call for GFCI in all wet locations, either plug or breaker. So, I would say main. This gets the dryer and Brewery with one breaker. Although 2 smaller ones may be cheaper.
I presume that you have an electric brew set up, and this is not just to run the lights or peripheral equipment. I know you said that your breaker box is full but they sell all manner of breakers now. 1/2 thickness, double, etc. As long as you're not out pf amps, you could use an alternative style. Just something to think about. I'm sure one of the Sparkys on here can help you with this. Luck - Dwain

__________________
Dwain is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 03:48 PM   #3
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

I was hoping to run tandem breakers to free up 2 poles for a 50 amp in the main, but my current panel does not accommodate the tandem breakers. I'm working on an electric brewery now, and the power is the most important part. I will be running two 5500 watt elements (one at a time) and a 1500 watt element through a rims tube controlled by the brewtroller. It will also be powering a pump, and an exhaust fan(i may run this on a different circuit). So far I have the elements, the brewtroller, and a version 1 sabco brewmagic to work with. I've got a ways to go yet.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 03:57 PM   #4
Dunerunner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florence, OR
Posts: 831
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Chris, this is the most important part of the brewery.

First, what size is the Main? Would you be exceeding the rating of the Main by installing a 100A breaker as a sub-main in the sub panel then having the 30A and 50A breakers as distribution breakers? You would then have them both available.

This stuff gets expensive real fast when you start talking upgrading your Main and the feed from the Utility (metering).

Also, be sure to follow Code when you do this or have a licensed electrician do the work. That keeps you homeowners insurance in force.

__________________
Dunerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:03 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

The path:

50A breaker in mains panel > wiring to sub panel

Then from the sub panel:
>> 30a breaker > existing dryer outlet
>> 50A GFCI > to new brewery outlet

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:04 PM   #6
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

I have 100 amp service =(

My main is qo120m100 service panel. The sticker detailing the information of the breaker box was covered with a sticker by the last homeowner. I definitely don't have the power available to run a 100 amp breaker at the main to get the 30 and 50 going at the same time. I pretty much have to live with only running a few things at a time with my whimpy service. I'm trying with all my might to not have to upgrade my service.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:10 PM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

You will be fine with the layout I just posted. It can be fairly inexpensive if you choose the sub panel wisely.

For instance you can secure THIS spa panel and use it as your sub panel.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:16 PM   #8
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

I was looking at that P-J. Will that Spa panel accommodate another double pole breaker?

Thanks for the help so far guys.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:24 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMichels View Post
I was looking at that P-J. Will that Spa panel accommodate another double pole breaker?

Thanks for the help so far guys.
Yes. It comes with a 50A GFCI and there is room for another 240V double pole breaker. Both breakers will be independently fed from the mains panel.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:28 PM   #10
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

Perfect.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spa panel McCuckerson Electric Brewing 32 03-29-2011 03:40 AM
BCS user control panel question bruin_ale Electric Brewing 35 03-15-2011 07:44 PM
60A Spa Panel Question dtfeld Electric Brewing 19 03-08-2011 02:32 PM
Quick control panel wiring question ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 3 02-03-2011 04:03 AM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS