New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Step 1 - Power to the Panel - Can I tee a line?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2011, 03:04 PM   #1
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 28 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Step 1 - Power to the Panel - Can I tee a line?

Posted this as a reply to a thread by accident....sorry for the dupe!

I'm starting to think about planning my next stage for my brewery. Right now I'm doing propane for HLT/BK, and have a RIMS tube/pump setup with control box. I want to go full electric, put an element in the BK, eliminate the HLT, and have a 2 vessel Brutus 20 clone that runs 10 gallons...

But the first step is figuring out power. I want to build the brewery into my laundry room, and I have a 4 wire dryer outlet in there already. I don't want to have to unplug the dryer each time I brew. Tell me if these options are OK, (up to code, etc.?)

1. Install a junction box before the dryer outlet. Splice in some 10/4 to the dryer line, run that 10/4 to a spa panel, and install a dryer outlet in the spa panel. I realize that I can't run the dryer and brew at the same time, as I'll trip the circuit breaker at the panel, but this is no big deal. Would look like this, (current situation on the left, what I want to do on the right).



2. Replace the single dryer outlet with a double one...do they make these???


__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 03:14 PM   #2
BigB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 1,760
Liked 41 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

If I recall correctly, a Dryer is required by the electrical code to be a dedicated circuit... IOW, nothing else may be spliced into it or share the circuit.

I would suggest you simply add a new circuit from the panel to where you want to have your outlet. Granted, it might not be "simple" depending on the layout of your home and the location of the main panel compared to where you want to have your brewing outlet.

Otherwise, keep it simple and just keep unplugging the dryer for the couple hours you are brewing.



__________________
I love the sound of an airlock bubbling in the morning. It sounds like.....VICTORY.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxBrew
It's now degenerating into nu uh and uh huhs and it no longer serves a point.
BigB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 05:16 PM   #3
trimpy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fairmont, WV
Posts: 106
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Would it work? Sure. Is it to code? Nope.

Each electric dryer is required to have a dedicated 30A run. You won't find a double dryer outlet either for that reason.

__________________
trimpy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 05:36 PM   #4
PLOVE
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
PLOVE's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Colton, OR
Posts: 330
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

How far is your panel from where you'd like to brew? I was able to add a cheap 50A breaker to my panel, wire it into a GFIC spa disconnect with #6 THHN, and then into a 50A 4W receptacle. As you can see I nipple the spa disconnect to the panel, and used a short 1" conduit run to the receptacle. Might work for you if your panel is close.



__________________
PLOVE is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 05:48 PM   #5
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 41,149
Liked 2729 Times on 2680 Posts
Likes Given: 99

Default

Not to code. AKA, don't have it inspected and remove it if you ever go to sell the house. If you're not comfortable with this, don't do it.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 28 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Fudge - I was afraid you guys would say this.

PLOVE - pretty short run. I'd say I have a 5 foot vertical, 7 foot horizontal run to where I want to brew, (through a wall - circuit breaker panel is in the garage, laundry room in the basement, split level house so the floor of the garage is halfway up the wall in the basement. So, I have to go 5 feet down in the garage, 2 feet over to the wall, through the wall, then 5 feet horizontal in the basement to the "ideal" plug location.

I could always just have a 5 foot 10/4 dryer cord going from my spa panel to the current wall outlet. In the future, when I get tired of unplugging/plugging in every time I want to brew, I can run an extra 7 feet of 10/4 from a new breaker in the panel to a second outlet next to the first.

I'm hesitant at this point to put in a new breaker, simply because I've never worked inside a circuit breaker panel before...I'd have no idea what I was doing...

__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 07:13 PM   #7
hatfieldenator
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 494
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ask around. If you have any friends or neighbors with electrical experience it would be better to have them help you out.

I've added a new breaker to a panel before and honestly its not that hard, but it would help to have someone walk you through it first.

Don't try the thing you diagrammed above. Not a good idea. Be safe and add a proper breaker to your panel.

__________________
hatfieldenator is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2011, 12:47 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,155
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Not to code. AKA, don't have it inspected and remove it if you ever go to sell the house. If you're not comfortable with this, don't do it.
Do NOT do this.!!! If anything ever happens to your house (fire) there will be a complete inspection of the result. If the inspection reveals that a change was made to the electrical that was not to code, your insurance company will jump on it and you will be up ****s creak. i.e. you will not be insured and you bought the farm.!
__________________
P-J is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2011, 01:15 AM   #9
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 28 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Do NOT do this.!!! If anything ever happens to your house (fire) there will be a complete inspection of the result. If the inspection reveals that a change was made to the electrical that was not to code, your insurance company will jump on it and you will be up ****s creak. i.e. you will not be insured and you bought the farm.!
lol, thanks P-J, but no worries...I'm sure the code is there for SOME stupid-arsed reason, and who am I to go against that? I'll do it right :-).

BTW, any idea WHAT the stupid-arsed reason is, in this case?


__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 02:36 AM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
How big is your panel? Utmustang Electric Brewing 21 08-07-2011 12:16 AM
Control Panel Power Connection advice needed. IEC? Twang Electric Brewing 3 04-15-2011 04:51 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-28-2010 11:06 PM