Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > started making electric plans, wondering why spa panel is necessary?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2012, 02:46 PM   #1
-TH-
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 975
Liked 59 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default started making electric plans, wondering why spa panel is necessary?

After doing a little bit of searching, I see that code requires 240V appliances such as water heaters to have a disconnect box OR a lockable circuit breaker in the main box. My rig will be right down the hall from my main box, is there any reason I can't just use a lockable GFCI breaker in the main box and skip the spa panel?

__________________
TH

Builds, etc: E-Brewery | Pneumatic Bottle Capper | Fermentation Chamber | Stirplate | Bottle Cabinet
Water Spreadsheet: www.EZWaterCalculator.com
-TH- is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2012, 04:14 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,248
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 436

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -TH- View Post
After doing a little bit of searching, I see that code requires 240V appliances such as water heaters to have a disconnect box OR a lockable circuit breaker in the main box. My rig will be right down the hall from my main box, is there any reason I can't just use a lockable GFCI breaker in the main box and skip the spa panel?
The reason I recommend the Spa Panel is that it is based on cost. Sometimes the cost of a GFCI breaker for the mains panel is way over the top and could cost over $150. You can get a Spa Panel from HomeDepot for about $55.

Regarding the GFCI - I firmly believe that it is a critical safety issue and must be in place to protect you. You will be working in a wet area after all and for that it is required by NEC.

I hope this makes sense.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
-TH-
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 975
Liked 59 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
The reason I recommend the Spa Panel is that it is based on cost. Sometimes the cost of a GFCI breaker for the mains panel is way over the top and could cost over $150. You can get a Spa Panel from HomeDepot for about $55.

Regarding the GFCI - I firmly believe that it is a critical safety issue and must be in place to protect you. You will be working in a wet area after all and for that it is required by NEC.

I hope this makes sense.

P-J
Ok thanks P-J. No question I will be using a GFCI circuit breaker. The decision I'm trying to make is where to use it.

I can get a 50amp GFCI for my main panel (Square-D QO250GFI) on ebay for $85 shipped. That's still more than the $55 spa panel but to make a fair comparison I would also need to get a 50 amp breaker (non-GFCI) for the main panel right? which for me is about $15 so that makes it $70 vs. $85. So I guess the spa panel is still the cheaper way to go like you said plus I think it would be more convenient to have the breaker near the brew-rig so my decision is getting easier...
__________________
TH

Builds, etc: E-Brewery | Pneumatic Bottle Capper | Fermentation Chamber | Stirplate | Bottle Cabinet
Water Spreadsheet: www.EZWaterCalculator.com
-TH- is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2012, 04:58 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,248
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 436

Default

Your last comment is right on the money.! This way you would have no hesitation to deliberately trip it when things seem to be going wrong.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
bgarino
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 81
Default

Can I use the 50 amp spa panel and a 30 amp breaker in my electric panel. My system is a based on 30 amps. 30 amp Gfi breakers are way to expensive. Will my panel and myself still be protected.?

Thanks

__________________
bgarino is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 01:00 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,248
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 436

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgarino View Post
Can I use the 50 amp spa panel and a 30 amp breaker in my electric panel. My system is a based on 30 amps. 30 amp Gfi breakers are way to expensive. Will my panel and myself still be protected.?

Thanks
Yes and absolutely. Your best bet is the Spa Panel that HomeDepot offers.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 01:14 PM   #7
bgarino
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 81
Default

Thanks pj

__________________
bgarino is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #8
-TH-
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 975
Liked 59 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

One more question, does the spa panel have to go on a dedicated circuit by code? Or could I wire it into the 30A 240V going to the garage which has its own sub panel and very little demand (garage door openers and lights). I would use a junction box right outside the main panel box.

__________________
TH

Builds, etc: E-Brewery | Pneumatic Bottle Capper | Fermentation Chamber | Stirplate | Bottle Cabinet
Water Spreadsheet: www.EZWaterCalculator.com
-TH- is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 04:51 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,248
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 436

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -TH- View Post
One more question, does the spa panel have to go on a dedicated circuit by code? Or could I wire it into the 30A 240V going to the garage which has its own sub panel and very little demand (garage door openers and lights). I would use a junction box right outside the main panel box.
Personally, I would not hard wire the Spa Panel. I would use it as a plug in device to an existing outlet.

If you need to install a new outlet, you should pull a permit and then have the work inspected.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
raskal
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: , Colorado
Posts: 40
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I just went through this, ended up with a dedicated GFCI breaker in the box. It was about $25 more then a spa panel, but it made my install much cleaner, and if/when I move It will be easier to remove. Good luck!

__________________
raskal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric brewery plans - need help Tiber_Brew Electric Brewing 545 03-19-2013 02:24 PM
Opinions Needed On My Electric Brewery Plans raskal Electric Brewing 72 08-09-2012 09:35 PM
Electric plans for Brew Shed sdsferraro Electric Brewing 10 07-08-2012 06:47 PM
My electric with divorced control panel rod734 Electric Brewing 0 10-06-2011 01:53 PM
Electric Control Panel PinupBrewery Electric Brewing 8 05-12-2011 12:41 AM