Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Ssr
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2011, 04:11 PM   #11
smellysell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 537
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Yeah, it was bad. One whole corner of it was melted.

__________________
High Mountain Hoppers Homebrew Club

I heart sour beer
smellysell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 12:08 AM   #12
nevertrustahipie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: raleigh
Posts: 43
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

you really should fuse the SSR (as well as just about everything else). That way when something like this happens again, you only have to replace an el cheapo fuse. As well as preventing fire or injury.

__________________
nevertrustahipie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 05:32 AM   #13
smellysell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 537
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevertrustahipie View Post
you really should fuse the SSR (as well as just about everything else). That way when something like this happens again, you only have to replace an el cheapo fuse. As well as preventing fire or injury.
:goodposting:

I'll be doing this just as soon as I figure out how to figure out what size fuses I need.
__________________
High Mountain Hoppers Homebrew Club

I heart sour beer
smellysell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 12:22 PM   #14
nevertrustahipie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: raleigh
Posts: 43
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

What is the SSR rated for?

__________________
nevertrustahipie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 12:29 AM   #15
smellysell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 537
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

40 amps

__________________
High Mountain Hoppers Homebrew Club

I heart sour beer
smellysell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 01:42 AM   #16
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If I were you, I wouldn't calculate the fuse to the SSR Amp rating, but to the load.
Keep the load to a maximum of .707 the SSR Amp rating (which, for a 40A SSR, means 28.28A tops), and calculate your fuse for 1.42 the effective load or higher. For example, if you have a 20A load, your fuse should be 20x1.42=28.4A, so you're gonna need a 30A fuse.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 01:53 AM   #17
smellysell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 537
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

I have about an 18 amp load.

__________________
High Mountain Hoppers Homebrew Club

I heart sour beer
smellysell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 03:49 AM   #18
smellysell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 537
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smellysell View Post
I have about an 18 amp load. Will 30 amp fuses work?
For some reason the second sentence didn't post so I fixed it above.
__________________
High Mountain Hoppers Homebrew Club

I heart sour beer
smellysell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 03:55 AM   #19
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Before spending your $$ on fuses, you might want to read this http://www.ciicontrols.com/hints/ssrhints.htm

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2011, 05:29 AM   #20
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smellysell View Post
I have about an 18 amp load. Will 30 amp fuses work?

Yeah, with 30A you're good. With that, you will have adequate protection on the whole circuit, plus, since the current through the SSR will never reach its maximum rating, the SSR itself will be protected.
__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS