Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa Panel "test" result?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default Spa Panel "test" result?

Hi I just wired up my 50a home depot spa panel. Measured my voltage at the plug I installed and had 115v at each hot leg, good. But when I hit the "test" on the gfci I heard a pop and saw sparks fly inside the panel. The breaker remained on. The sparks spooked me so I shut everything off to see if this is a normal reaction or is something not right? It became a bit smelly too.

__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 11:20 PM   #2
Chrisl77
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jackson, New Jersey
Posts: 743
Liked 38 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Smell as in burnt plastic? You did the right thing by turning off the breaker you shouldn't get any sparks or smells when you hit the test button on the gfci. Can you take a pic of the inside of the spa panel it would be easier to see if its wired up correct. If your not confident that your wiring is correct you may want to hire an electrician to double check your work.

__________________
Ocean County home brew club
Chrisl77 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 11:33 PM   #3
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

Actually the smell is probably from the wires that I cut from the cord wire I'm going to use. Here is a pic.

__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 11:39 PM   #4
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

The incoming wires are in the center, 2 hots go beside the gfci and you can see the rest.

img_20130210_182901.jpg  
__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2013, 12:24 AM   #5
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

Went and tested it again and nothing happens now, looks like the gfci burnt out! Did I wire it wrong? It looks fine to me
I'm going to have to try and get this replaced somehow at home depot even though I drilled holes in it already. Anyone can confirm the wiring was right before I try to fight this battle?

__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2013, 01:00 AM   #6
Chrisl77
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Jackson, New Jersey
Posts: 743
Liked 38 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Well the pic looks like the breaker is triped the on position is the farthest position from the test button. To reset it you need to push the breaker all the way off then back on. Other then that it looks like its wired correct to me.

__________________
Ocean County home brew club
Chrisl77 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 09:59 PM   #7
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

Called ge they are sending a replacement.

__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 01:22 AM   #8
mikeysab
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
 
mikeysab's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 4,401
Liked 485 Times on 381 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

It looks like you have a white going to the back of the plug. Or am i seeing it wrong?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper
We be in a big hurry for dope beer with much alcamahol and flavor, quality, balance, and aroma don't matter.
Mikeysab on untappd.
mikeysab is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 02:45 AM   #9
lukez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 56
Default

ya I have a 10/3 dryer wire (which is actually 10/4, 3 wires + ground) coming in the center of the panel and then 4 wires going out to the plug which will then be going to the control panel.

__________________
lukez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 02:59 AM   #10
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,579
Liked 269 Times on 214 Posts
Likes Given: 46

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukez View Post
ya I have a 10/3 dryer wire (which is actually 10/4, 3 wires + ground) coming in the center of the panel and then 4 wires going out to the plug which will then be going to the control panel.
Huh? is the plug you are pluging into the wall 4 or 3 pronged?
__________________
My DIY grain mill
First AG mini-BIAB
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I had a crazy idea - "Test Batching" Recipes... ViperMan General Beer Discussion 13 05-20-2013 04:02 PM
Spa Panel Breaker won't Flip to "On" biertourist Electric Brewing 23 01-07-2013 11:31 PM
"leftovers" mini test batch! Stauffbier General Beer Discussion 2 12-19-2011 01:18 AM
Why isn't an Iodine test the "defacto" standard for mash time? GilaMinumBeer Brew Science 43 05-16-2009 02:18 PM
I'm bumming. My first "less then perfect result" batch... Rosanna Banana! capcrnch General Techniques 10 08-31-2008 07:27 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS