Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa panel or not?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2012, 06:13 PM   #1
SavageBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 56
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Spa panel or not?

I have searched the forums for an answer and haven't seen a definitive answer to my question. I have built an E-HERMS system and am getting ready to provide power to the system. It is a 30 amp system with 5500watt elements, using only one at a time. The problem I have is I cannot find a 30amp GFCI breaker for my breaker box. All stores are out of stock and online as well.

Can I use a standard 30 amp double pole breaker at the breaker box, run the cables to a spa panel with a 50 amp GFCI breaker in it, and plug my control panel into the spa panel as seen in other posts? The spa panel will serve as the GFCI only.

Is this safe? I need help from the electricians on here. I don't want to burn my house down.

I forgot to mention my brewery is to be used outside. I don't have room inside my house for the brewery. If that makes any difference.

__________________
SavageBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,885
Liked 147 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Yes, you can use a 30 amp breaker in your main panel, and a 50 amp spa panel GFCI. If you wire with 10AWG, the 30 amp breaker will protect the wire. What you cannot do is use 10 AWG wire and then connect the spa panel to a 50 amp circuit.

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2012, 09:10 PM   #3
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

What brand is your panel?

__________________
grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2012, 10:53 PM   #4
Jps101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 87
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Great question...I have been wondering the same thing. Like you (I think) there is no problem finding a 50 amp gfci spa panel with cover etc. Some of the panels I have seen use a 50 amp plug. Would it be best to replace the plug or simply make up own wire cord with a 50 amp plug on it?

__________________
Jps101 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 12:04 AM   #5
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Im personally a fan of just using a gfci breaker. it may cost a penny more to do it this way, I just think its neater and easier. Im a electrician for a large service company so its basically free for me.

__________________
grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 04:55 AM   #6
SavageBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 56
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes, you can use a 30 amp breaker in your main panel, and a 50 amp spa panel GFCI. If you wire with 10AWG, the 30 amp breaker will protect the wire. What you cannot do is use 10 AWG wire and then connect the spa panel to a 50 amp circuit.
The wire I used is 10 gauge wire. I am running it off of a 30amp breaker in the breaker box. I have no plans on using a 50 amp circuit. I just want the gfci for protection and the E-stop switch. Thank you for the help.
__________________
SavageBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 04:57 AM   #7
SavageBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 56
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandequeso View Post
What brand is your panel?
I plan on buying the Midwest Electric 50amp spa panel from Home Depot. I haven't bought it yet because I wanted to make sure I can use it.
Here is the link.
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UMwDEnPjm1k
__________________
SavageBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 03:42 PM   #8
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,885
Liked 147 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageBrewer View Post
I plan on buying the Midwest Electric 50amp spa panel from Home Depot. I haven't bought it yet because I wanted to make sure I can use it.
Here is the link.
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UMwDEnPjm1k
Yes, that one will work.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 01:44 AM   #9
SavageBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 56
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes, that one will work.
Ok. Thank you very much for your help. I will get started on that right after the holidays.
__________________
SavageBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 10:13 PM   #10
kevreh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 225
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandequeso View Post
Im personally a fan of just using a gfci breaker. it may cost a penny more to do it this way, I just think its neater and easier. Im a electrician for a large service company so its basically free for me.
Do you mean a breaker in the main panel?
__________________
On tap: Summer Ale, Vienna Lager/Ale
In the fermenter: 59 Minute IPA
On deck: Two Hearted IPA

My eBrewery
kevreh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using A Retired Service Panel For A Control Panel kgalle Electric Brewing 2 04-25-2012 12:52 PM
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 03:36 AM
Spa Panel or this...? TravelingBrewer22 Electric Brewing 4 12-15-2011 03:06 AM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 03:31 AM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS