The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa panel

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 02:21 AM   #1
McCuckerson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Spa panel

Anybody mount their damn spa panel right on their rig? Kinda like an in-line GFCI? I have a 240v outlet in my garage but its not GFI. I was thinking of putting the spa panel right on the rig with a dryer cord running to the non gfi outlet. No?

Or, could I mount the spa panel on the wall and put an outlet right in the spa panel box?

__________________

"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."

McCuckerson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 02:52 AM   #2
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

McCuckerson,
Save yourself the hassle and just install the appropriate GFCI breaker in the panel. I assume it is a 30amp circuit (4-wire) since it is a dryer? Then use a plug and whip over to the panel. Or, are you sharing the circuit with your dryer when not brewing?

__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 05:20 AM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

A lot of people are using the 30 amp cord with a GFI built in. Really the same thing as doing the panel on the stand, gives you some flexibility to take it with you. I can brew with it in the basement or carry it up to the Laundry room if I needed to.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 12:24 PM   #4
SOB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delaware, OH
Posts: 975
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I mounted mine right on the rig. It gives me a way of killing power locally. I also don't plan on moving the rig anywhere so flexibility was not a concern.

__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"
SOB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 12:50 PM   #5
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Personally, I want the GFCI as far up stream as I can get it.
If a water line breaks and hoses down the panel (I know it "should" be water tight) your gfci protection would be flooded... right?

Ed

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:12 PM   #6
McCuckerson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
McCuckerson,
Save yourself the hassle and just install the appropriate GFCI breaker in the panel. I assume it is a 30amp circuit (4-wire) since it is a dryer? Then use a plug and whip over to the panel. Or, are you sharing the circuit with your dryer when not brewing?
Its a square D box, and it seems like those breakers are crazy expensive. List is like 3 bones, retail $128 and remanufactured is not much of a savings at all.

The 30amp circuit was put in the garage by my electrician friend/neighbor. We were talking one night over a few HBs about electric brewing, and I came home the next day to a new circuit in my garage. Only problem is its not GFI

I just figured if I needed a disconnect at the rig anyway, and the spa panels can be had pretty cheap, they would serve that purpose as well as protect the work envelope of the rig.

GFI cord is an option too, but same problem of not protecting as far upstream as possible. Darnit, why does safety have to cost so much!
__________________

"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."

McCuckerson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:17 PM   #7
McCuckerson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
Personally, I want the GFCI as far up stream as I can get it.
If a water line breaks and hoses down the panel (I know it "should" be water tight) your gfci protection would be flooded... right?

Ed
So if i'm hearing you correctly, you are advocating brewing wearing lineman's gloves?

Seriously, you make an excellent point. GFI breaker at the box is the safest option.
__________________

"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."

McCuckerson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:32 PM   #8
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McCuckerson View Post
So if i'm hearing you correctly, you are advocating brewing wearing lineman's gloves?

Seriously, you make an excellent point. GFI breaker at the box is the safest option.
Yup... safety first

I had a SPA panel and started looking at the cost of a breaker in the main, cord & terminators from the breaker panel to the SPA box, cord & terminators from the SPA Box to my control panel and then ran into a deal in a GFCI Breaker, so that's how I went.

If you want to add distance between your rig and the GFCI, you could hang the SPA panel on the wall in your garage and use SO cord in and out of it.

Ed
__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:46 PM   #9
McCuckerson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
If you want to add distance between your rig and the GFCI, you could hang the SPA panel on the wall in your garage and use SO cord in and out of it.

Ed
Do you think I could mount the outlet right in the spa panel? That would be pretty cool.
__________________

"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."

McCuckerson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 09:59 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McCuckerson View Post
Do you think I could mount the outlet right in the spa panel? That would be pretty cool.
That's what I am suggesting to a guy in Chapel Hill. He got a spa panel for $50 and the plan is to put an outlet right in the thing so that the brewery panel can plug into it.

Spa panel will be on a short cord and placed next to his non-GFI outlet. Brewery panel is on a long cord that plugs into the GFI box.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60A Spa Panel Question dtfeld Electric Brewing 19 03-08-2011 01:32 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 06:42 PM
control panel on/off switch stevehaun Electric Brewing 3 12-18-2010 03:49 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-28-2010 11:06 PM
Spa Panel $50 Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 7 11-13-2010 09:48 PM