The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Simple eHERMS, following PJ's diagram w/ only 1 PID.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2011, 11:21 PM   #81
JRems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,227
Liked 57 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Update?

__________________
JRems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 12:51 AM   #82
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 509
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Well its been completed for several months, however being that everything is located an hour away I've only brewed two 11gal batches. If I did it all over again, I would mount the pump in a separate enclosure. It's nice that I can just pick it up and go, but I get worried when changing camlocks that liquid will get in. However just over paranoid because there has not been any issues.

As for the diagram and only using 1 PID, it works flawlessly! If your on a budget and want clean and simple you can't go wrong.

__________________
Squeeky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2012, 05:30 PM   #83
mizzourah
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nevada, MO
Posts: 5
Default

I have been scouring the forums for some help on a set up like this...

First off, I am definitely no electrician but my father has some experience and we are both pretty handy.

I've got a couple of questions. I found this diagram from P-J on the forums, is there any way someone could show me how I would wire in a key switch into this. I do not want one of the kids to accidentally turn it on.

http://www.pjmuth.org/beerstuff/imag...2352-5500w.jpg

Another quick question, I found this on eBay and was thinking that I could maybe monitor the MT without having to purchase another PID but still have an electrical display...but again I'm no electrician and I don't want to ruin any of the hardware that I am purchasing.

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices

P-J all of your diagrams are outstanding, I know I am learning a lot from the all and I really appreciate all the help you've given us (even if yo didn't know it!!)

__________________
mizzourah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 12:29 PM   #84
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizzourah View Post
I have been scouring the forums for some help on a set up like this...

First off, I am definitely no electrician but my father has some experience and we are both pretty handy.

I've got a couple of questions. I found this diagram from P-J on the forums, is there any way someone could show me how I would wire in a key switch into this. I do not want one of the kids to accidentally turn it on.

http://www.pjmuth.org/beerstuff/imag...2352-5500w.jpg

Another quick question, I found this on eBay and was thinking that I could maybe monitor the MT without having to purchase another PID but still have an electrical display...but again I'm no electrician and I don't want to ruin any of the hardware that I am purchasing.

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices

P-J all of your diagrams are outstanding, I know I am learning a lot from the all and I really appreciate all the help you've given us (even if yo didn't know it!!)
Installing a key switch will require the addition of a contactor as the switch cannot carry the full current load.

The temperature module certainly can be used. Keep in mind that it requires a 24V DC power source. You also need to secure another RTD temperature probe to use it.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 02:08 AM   #85
dedicatedx
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Squeeky and PJ,

So just to confirm, can you use the switches from the 4500W diagram with the 5500W one?

I'm very close to starting my build.

__________________
dedicatedx is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 02:01 PM   #86
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 509
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Yeppers, brewed a Dale's Pale Ale over the weekend. It was nice to be brewing again! The switch will handle the 30A just fine. One thing you want to ensure though is a good solid connection. Soldering would be your best route. I went with ratcheting crimper, if I did it all over again I would solder things directly.

__________________
Squeeky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 02:13 PM   #87
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 509
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Another thing I would change, is to buy a second RTD. Even in manual mode the PID requires a probe connection. During boil I will typically clean my HLT and MT, which having the probe connected can be an issue.

__________________
Squeeky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 08:30 PM   #88
JoshAZ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 19
Default

This is great!! I think that I am going to build mine off of this with the two pumps!

Had one questions could I put the RDT in the heat exchanger coil return line? or is it better to monitor the MLT with it own thermometer? So i will know what the HLt temp is at?

__________________
JoshAZ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 08:49 PM   #89
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshAZ View Post
This is great!! I think that I am going to build mine off of this with the two pumps!

Had one questions could I put the RDT in the heat exchanger coil return line? or is it better to monitor the MLT with it own thermometer? So i will know what the HLt temp is at?
I'd suggest placing it in the HLT. The same temp of the HLT will be transferred to the HERMS coil as long as the HLT water is kept in motion.
Bottom line - '0' difference in temp. You will have a degree (or 2) difference due to line loss between the HLT and the MASH.

(Unless I'm totally misunderstanding your question..)

IMHO... Sorry...
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2012, 09:07 PM   #90
JoshAZ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 19
Default

I was just thinking it would be easier to put it in the line vs a hole in the kettle.

I am sure I will have questions as I start to order and build.

Thanks P-J

__________________
JoshAZ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with my electrical diagram!!! Gabrew Electric Brewing 208 03-05-2011 01:10 AM
Electric diagram w/ RIMS snail Electric Brewing 13 11-28-2010 02:00 AM
Final Electrical diagram, maybe??????????? EuBrew Electric Brewing 12 11-01-2010 10:16 PM
Wiring diagram advice frank551 Electric Brewing 6 10-19-2010 01:56 PM
How Many Temp Inputs EHERMS Brewers? EuBrew Electric Brewing 10 10-13-2010 10:29 PM