New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > SET620 PID Temp Controller Question




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 04:37 PM   #1
csuf_kmcglynn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 8
Default SET620 PID Temp Controller Question

Hello... currently I am working on an automated HERMS system using fleebay SET620 temp controllers, a digital timer, solenoid valves, and a plc for a senior project... my question is regarding the PID temp controller as it appears the temp reading are always incorrect... I am using some type k thermocouples from here
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Sensors_-z-_Encoders/Temperature_Sensors/Thermocouple_Sensors/Probes_%28with_Hex_Nipple%29/THMK-H06L01-01
I know some of the users here have used this PID temp controller and has anyone experienced this... the owners manual claims that the INTy (temp sensor) is normally set on RTD PT10 however it seems like it was actually set to type K... this is going by the symbol that it displays shows a backwards 4 which I assumed was for K... this is really making me go crazy because it almost seems that the scale is off because after using the correction factor, it will eventually read a lower temperature then the actual... everything on the system works but correct temperatures on the PID temp controller... if anyone knows the fix, please let me know... thank you



__________________
csuf_kmcglynn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 03:16 PM   #2
csuf_kmcglynn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 8
Default

no one????



__________________
csuf_kmcglynn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 09:40 PM   #3
rp5brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 54
Default

How far off is it reading? Is it a linear scale? Have you tried all the other options in the controller and verified that you have it wired for type J rather than K?

__________________
rp5brew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Also, do you have any connectors installed between the probe and the PID or are the leads from the probe directly wired into the back of the PID with no other hardware between?

EDIT: AH... nevermind. I see that the probe has only 3" leads on it, so I am assuming you extended the leads. Did you use proper thermocouple wire to make the entensions? Thermocouples are sensitive little boogers and should use proper thermocouple wire and connectors or the readings can go wonky.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 11:53 PM   #5
csuf_kmcglynn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 8
Default

unfortunately i do not have any type j thermocouples laying around... as time goes on the temperature difference of actual and pid reading increases... i verified the voltage reading while running with a multimeter and it matched the pid reading... as far as my connections, all are soldered in for the extension using proper thermocouple wiring... i am hoping that i can just use an rtd for this... i am going to borrow one from the lab and test it out probably tomorrow before some finals so i dont just purchase them thinking that is the fix

__________________
csuf_kmcglynn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2011, 01:07 AM   #6
rp5brew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 54
Default

The paperwork you supplied says the unit is a J/K thermocouple...

__________________
rp5brew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2011, 04:37 PM   #7
csuf_kmcglynn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 8
Default

the spec sheet covers both their type j and type k thermocouples that they carry, unfortunately I ordered the type k... i assume it is a horrible response time... later today im going to test it out with an actual platinum rtd... hopefully that will work

__________________
csuf_kmcglynn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2011, 07:32 PM   #8
csuf_kmcglynn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 8
Default

replaced it with an rtd and had to bend it up cause the detector was too low for the true fluid temp... now just need to do that to the other 2 pots



__________________
csuf_kmcglynn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PID temp controller? rod734 Electric Brewing 13 04-29-2011 06:08 PM
Electric HLT temp. controller Steven9026 Electric Brewing 5 02-04-2011 11:11 AM
On/Off Power Controller? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 01-29-2011 07:29 AM
Question about fuses for element controller Bugaboo Electric Brewing 17 12-07-2010 05:30 PM