Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Running a sub panel with a full breaker box
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default Running a sub panel with a full breaker box

I have 100 amp service in my new home. I want to run a subpanel to an extra room in the basement and make an all electric brew set up. I'm not too sure how to accomplish this with the full breaker box. Any suggestions? I think i'd like to go with 60a or 100a subpanel. I'm thinking 60a would cut it for a 5500w + 4500w and a couple of pumps + other small things.

What say you?

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 06:43 PM   #2
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springport, Michigan
Posts: 885
Liked 40 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

I say upgrade to 200A service.

__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Duck Lake EPA
Duck Pee (Cream of Three Crops variant)

Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - 0
evanmars is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 06:50 PM   #3
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

I'd have to get a new box too. I wonder what the cost difference would be.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 07:29 PM   #4
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 734
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

I'm in the same boat. I want 240V service in my garage and I only have 100 amp service now. I don't think I'll be able to run my central AC and supply an electric brewery at the same time. I verified with the power company the underground line to my home will support 200 amp service. To install a new load center would require disconnect of old load center and pray all the conduit exiting would match up to knockouts on new load center. No matter what, power off in the house while it's updated and my lovely bride will not be happy.

I think this a job for electrician to cover my butt with insurance company coverage.

__________________
rcrabb22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 07:38 PM   #5
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

I would be pushing it extremely close with 100 amp service, I know that for sure. Water heater/central air/pool motor + brewery. Evanmars may be right. Which means....all the money i have saved for me electric brew rig would go to getting the service upgraded. I could go gas, but damn it gets cold in the winter here.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 08:47 PM   #6
acefaser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: firestone, co
Posts: 350
Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Can you just change a 100a panel for a 200a?

__________________
acefaser is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 08:49 PM   #7
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 106
Default

You could swap out 4 existing breakers with tandems (ie: http://www.drillspot.com/products/27...tandem_breaker ) to make room for a new breaker for your load center. Just did this at my house as a matter of fact.

__________________
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2011, 08:52 PM   #8
ChrisMichels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51
Default

acefaser - I guess you could put a 200a panel in on 100a service, but if i go that far, might as well just upgrade my service as well.

Sdurge - I'm going to try to measure my total load tonight....If I can swing it with a few of my major appliances running with the proposed brewery load, I may try this route as it would be the easiest.

__________________
ChrisMichels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 09:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
Did I Blow My Breaker? Maltose Electric Brewing 5 12-12-2010 04:58 AM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS