Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > RTD sensor for stock thermowell in Stout Tanks
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2012, 04:09 AM   #1
Mb2658
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: , NE
Posts: 413
Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default RTD sensor for stock thermowell in Stout Tanks

I am looking into Stout kettles for my electric brewery build. I know that the thermometers that come with the kettles will fit into the thermowells. I am trying to figure out what if any RTD probe will fit in the thermowells that Stout welds in to their kettles. Does anyone have experience with this? I figure that I will use a tri clover T on the output of the herms coil to place a rtd probe for mash temp. Would I be better off ordering a tri clover port where I can add an RTD probe instead of the thermowell? Thanks in advance.

__________________
Mb2658 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
cheez
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cheez's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Green Side of, WA
Posts: 184
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb2658 View Post
I am looking into Stout kettles for my electric brewery build. I know that the thermometers that come with the kettles will fit into the thermowells. I am trying to figure out what if any RTD probe will fit in the thermowells that Stout welds in to their kettles. Does anyone have experience with this? I figure that I will use a tri clover T on the output of the herms coil to place a rtd probe for mash temp. Would I be better off ordering a tri clover port where I can add an RTD probe instead of the thermowell? Thanks in advance.
Did you ever get an answer on this? I'm trying to figure out the same thing. Thanks.
__________________
cheez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
Mb2658
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: , NE
Posts: 413
Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheez

Did you ever get an answer on this? I'm trying to figure out the same thing. Thanks.
I ended up going with tri-clamp thermowells, which You can order from Stout instead of the fixed thermowells. I am doing a Brewtroller build so I bought the temp sensors from Oscsys.com. They fit in the thermowells with a 1/2 to 1/4 compression adapter.
__________________
Mb2658 is offline
cheez Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stout Tanks RIMS Module aNYbrewery Electric Brewing 20 08-10-2012 12:15 PM
Sensor locations?? Rondacker Electric Brewing 1 05-29-2011 12:37 PM
Sensor Question eric_pwb Electric Brewing 3 05-24-2011 12:30 AM
PID and I2C Temperature Sensor? TriangleIL Electric Brewing 17 02-22-2011 09:49 PM
temperature sensor to 10 bit ADC cheese Electric Brewing 10 12-14-2010 07:55 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS