Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > RIMS setup question.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2013, 09:45 PM   #11
grupe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

One other thing, you need a pt100 sensor like this one: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=189

K type sensors aren't water tight from what I have seen

__________________

-Graham

grupe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2013, 09:48 PM   #12
Rys06Tbss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rys06Tbss's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 378
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

The ta6 is bigger. I bought a ta4 which is 1/16 din. It does have SSR output. I bought it on amazon. The SSR I bought was a 40 amp. Just in case I decided to run 220 and switch to all electric. I bout a pt100 probe as well, got everything for less then 50. Should be here tomorrow. Now all I need to do is finish building my project box, and build a rims tube. Are you running 1 1/2 in or 2 in.im going to use a 1500 watt element. Also I was thinking about building the tube out of copper instead of stainless but it looks like copper is going to be a lot more.

__________________

My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2013, 03:46 AM   #13
Rys06Tbss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rys06Tbss's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 378
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

I finally set up my box.I dont have the RIMS tube yet. Heres the box. I still need to add circuit breakers for the PID and heater. I also want to add a few more switches for so I can turn the PID on or off. I also want to add a few lights so I can see whats going on in terms of the heater element and box power and what not.





__________________

My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2013, 08:34 PM   #14
audger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 40 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grupe View Post
140734649531 is the eBay item number. Get 25 amp SSRs
looks like the OP has already made the purchase, but 40A ssrs will run cooler and are close, or sometimes identical, in price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grupe View Post
K type sensors aren't water tight from what I have seen
you just need any type of sensor (k, J, RTD) that is already mounted in a stainless steel thermowell, not just the bare sensor. the housing has nothing to do with the sensor type. however RTDs are nice as they dont drift over time like thermocouples tend to do.
__________________
audger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 01:49 AM   #15
Rys06Tbss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rys06Tbss's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 378
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

This sensor is sealed and watertight. The 40 amp SSR was bought at the same time. This PID was actually really easy to setup. Maybe they changed the instructions? Anyhow. I want to make my RTD detachable. Is there any reason I can't make it longer and re calibrate it? Also. I was thinking about using an RJ45 jack for it, since it has 5 or 6 pins. That would work right?

__________________

My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #16
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 893
Liked 34 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

It's easy to extend and put a qd on. No need to recalibrate either. I snip the RTD wire about 6-8" from the PID end and connect it to an XLR panel mount. Then connect the complimentary XLR connector on the RTD wire.

__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build
stlbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New RIMS setup phreaky Brew Stands 25 07-22-2014 01:32 AM
Question about the need for RIMS in an eBIAB setup CS223 Electric Brewing 0 03-16-2012 04:16 PM
RIMS Setup Help TravelingBrewer22 Electric Brewing 8 10-18-2011 05:24 PM
New RIMS Setup djsethall All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 0 02-26-2011 03:31 AM
Thoughts on this RIMS setup? HarvInSTL Equipment/Sanitation 4 02-18-2008 04:12 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS