Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Is this the right kind of GFCI?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2011, 04:21 PM   #1
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 121
Default Is this the right kind of GFCI?

I've been stalling on getting my 50 amp outlet installed, because I need GFCI for my brewing, (Currently using a 2 circuit 120v setup) and I need a regular breaker for my RV ( it has its own GFCI's on each outlet circuit.) Would one of these allow me to make a 50 amp inline GFCI:

http://www.spapartsshop.com/6895-BLK.aspx

Or

http://www.hottubworks.com/cgi-bin/c...map=1-GF-50AHC

I've also looked at the 30 amp inline GFCI's available on Ebay, but if I go 240v I want to go all the way and have a heated HLT (or rims tube) and BK capable of being heated at the same time.

__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Boar Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Boar Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central NH, NH
Posts: 575
Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts

Default

did you look into getting a GFI that would go in your panel.
Thats what i did and it protects everything from the panel to your BK. It should be cheaper too.

__________________

I was married for 10 years before my wife knew I drank.
Then one day I made a mistake and came home from work sober


Minus33.com

Boar Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,266
Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

That will work, however you need to wire it with a contactor or relay as well. How many amps do you intend to draw at any given time with the brewery? Maybe it would make more sense to pick up a GFCI Cord? I've only seen them up to 30A though.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 04:52 PM   #4
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boar Beer View Post
did you look into getting a GFI that would go in your panel.
Thats what i did and it protects everything from the panel to your BK. It should be cheaper too.
Like I said I plan to plug an RV into the same outlet, so the outlet it self can't be GFI, because the RV already has its own GFI's.

I'm not sure why does this need to be connected to a contactor/relay? does it need something else to cut the circuit?
__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 05:43 PM   #5
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 55 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wh4tig0t View Post
Like I said I plan to plug an RV into the same outlet, so the outlet it self can't be GFI, because the RV already has its own GFI's.

I'm not sure why does this need to be connected to a contactor/relay? does it need something else to cut the circuit?
I don't know the answer, but it does say so in the description - so why not call them?

High Current GFCI
Adds ground fault protection to 30 or 50 amp loads powered through 3 and 4 wire circuits that include a grounded neutral. This high current GFCI must be used in conjunction with a switching relay or contactor for 3 or 4 wire circuits that include a grounded neutral. Call us for more information and technical assistance!
__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 05:56 PM   #6
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,266
Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wh4tig0t View Post
I'm not sure why does this need to be connected to a contactor/relay? does it need something else to cut the circuit?
Bingo!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 06:33 PM   #7
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samc View Post
I don't know the answer, but it does say so in the description - so why not call them?
Called got redirected to their distributor. Basically it sounds more complicated than it needs to be for our type of application.

Whats stopping me from buying a SPA panel from lowes and running a plug from that spa panel up to my 50amp outlet, then out from the spa panel to another plug that is now GFI. Maybe mount the whole thing on a non permanent stand so when brew day is over it can be stored and out of the way?
__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 07:30 PM   #8
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 33 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

You can buy a 60A GFCI spa panel for the same price as that little gizmo.

The reason why you need a contactor for that thing is because it only has a single pole contact. Once a ground fault is detected (the net flux going through the current sensor is not equal to 0) it opens or closes it's internal contact. During a ground fault you want to break connection with L1, L2, and N. With out the contactor you could only break 1 of those 3 connections.

Build the spa breaker into your control panel with a service cord that plugs into where the RV receptacle goes. Put a regular breaker to feed the RV receptacle in the main distribution panel. You wont be running GFCI's in series to the RV and the rig will have GFCI protection for the same cost. maybe less.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2011, 11:40 PM   #9
LordUlrich
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 540
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

am i missing something, but why can you use the gfic with the RV?
As far as i know there is no reason 2 GIFC cant be run in series, excessive yes but i should work (from what i know)

__________________

Don't take any more faith in anything I say than you would anyone else on the internet. If you listen to what I say, then hurt your self or break something it is your own fault, I am just expressing my opinion or experience.
THINK for your self!!

LordUlrich is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #10
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordUlrich View Post
am i missing something, but why can you use the gfic with the RV?
As far as i know there is no reason 2 GIFC cant be run in series, excessive yes but i should work (from what i know)
As far as I understand 2 GFCI's cancel each other out, and either trip each other or negate the protection provided the other, can someone else fill in here for me?
__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd GFCI Connections? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 48 04-06-2011 02:20 PM
placement of GFCI outlet kappclark Electric Brewing 7 03-05-2011 06:13 PM
GFCI keeps blowing Cybershadow Electric Brewing 51 12-22-2010 06:14 PM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 09:53 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS