Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Ranco for Element Control
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 01:49 AM   #1
Antler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbonear, Nl
Posts: 711
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts

Default Ranco for Element Control

Been considering doing 1 gallon BIAB to play with some recipes and not have to worry about have 5 gallons of not-so-great beer sitting around.

Had planned on stovetop, but then I got to thinking about electric. I already have a Ranco single stage temp controller here somewhere I'm not using. I'm sure I could round up an old tea kettle for the element.
Would it be as simple as mounting it in the pot, plug it in and go brewing?

__________________
Antler is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 02:05 AM   #2
Tinga
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 1,160
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

do they make the tea kettle things in a one gallon size? I know thats not what youre saying but that would be worth looking into.

You may be able to find a small water heater element that would be cheaper than you could find a tea kettle element for. Just make sure to check the amp rating on the ranco and stay within that range when finding an element.

__________________
Tinga is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 02:08 AM   #3
Antler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbonear, Nl
Posts: 711
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinga
do they make the tea kettle things in a one gallon size? I know thats not what youre saying but that would be worth looking into.

You may be able to find a small water heater element that would be cheaper than you could find a tea kettle element for. Just make sure to check the amp rating on the ranco and stay within that range when finding an element.
Amp rating for the Ranco is 16 amps. I was thinking about the water heater element as well. Anyone done this?
__________________
Antler is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 02:11 AM   #4
Tinga
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 1,160
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

indeed. thats what most people use to do electric brewing. you can buy water heater elements for less than 10 bucks and wire them up with a cord rated for the amperage.

__________________
Tinga is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 02:43 AM   #5
Antler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbonear, Nl
Posts: 711
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinga
indeed. thats what most people use to do electric brewing. you can buy water heater elements for less than 10 bucks and wire them up with a cord rated for the amperage.
Awesome! This will be my "pilot" system, so for 20-30 bucks I can upgrade to electric! Great!
__________________
Antler is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 12:41 PM   #6
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,874
Liked 144 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Are you aware that you may not be able to achieve the same fine control over the temperature as you could with a PID? Something to consider....

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 03:46 PM   #7
Antler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbonear, Nl
Posts: 711
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh
Are you aware that you may not be able to achieve the same fine control over the temperature as you could with a PID? Something to consider....
No I didn't know that. Is the Ranco known to be off by a few degrees or something?
__________________
Antler is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 04:51 PM   #8
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 617
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

A PID + SSR can pulse width modulate the element when it approaches the process temp to prevent overshoot. The Ranco will have simple ON/OFF control. Both types of controllers are limited by the location of the temp sensor and the consistency of the temp through out the fluid so stir or recirculate when you approach your process temp for better repeatability.

__________________
jCOSbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 05:21 PM   #9
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,874
Liked 144 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

jCOSbrew is correct. If you use a PID like the Auber 2352, it even has software that will "learn" your system characteristics and automatically modulate (pulse on and off to effectively reduce the heating output) the element to prevent overshoot. With the Ranco, the element is 100% on until you hit your setpoint and will likely overshoot, then 100% off until it drops below your differential, then 100% on and likely overshooting again.

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 06:15 PM   #10
Antler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbonear, Nl
Posts: 711
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh
jCOSbrew is correct. If you use a PID like the Auber 2352, it even has software that will "learn" your system characteristics and automatically modulate (pulse on and off to effectively reduce the heating output) the element to prevent overshoot. With the Ranco, the element is 100% on until you hit your setpoint and will likely overshoot, then 100% off until it drops below your differential, then 100% on and likely overshooting again.
So the Ranco is not a good idea? I'm always there stirring during the mash. I figured the Ranco would be an increase over propane burner
__________________
Antler is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I use my existing Ranco to control a 5.5 kW CAMCO element? twd000 Electric Brewing 11 10-04-2012 05:33 AM
How many Amps is a Ranco able to Handle for a Heating Element? RonRock Brew Stands 5 11-06-2011 01:18 AM
Ranco control steven85 Equipment/Sanitation 18 08-25-2011 06:56 PM
Using a Ranco to Control An Old Refrigerator? ForRealBeer Fermenters 4 12-21-2009 02:24 PM
Ranco Temp control Bruiz54 Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-04-2008 12:31 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS