Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Questions about spa box

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2011, 01:46 PM   #1
poolshark021
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 35
Default Questions about spa box

I just bought the $49 home depot spa box for my new build. All the wiring, connectors, etc. I bought are rated for 30A (which should be fine for my single 5500W element). In addition to the 50A gfci that came with the box, I want to use a standard 30A breaker to protect the circuits from over current. Can I put the 30A breaker in the main box and still use the 50A gfci in the spa box or should it be the other way around?

__________________

Primay: Empty
Secondary: West Coast Pale Ale
Kegerator: Mad Hatter Clone

poolshark021 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2011, 01:56 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

That is a hugh depends. Are you installing the wiring from your mains panel to your brewing area? You say that the wire you bought is for 30A. Is that correct & is it 3 wire or 4 wire cable? Will it be terminating with an outlet?

P-J

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
poolshark021
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 35
Default

Yes I am installing a complete new circuit. The wire is 10-3 with a ground so actually 4 wires. I am not terminating with a typical outlet, I will be installing a 120V switched outlet on the side of the box to plug my pump into.

__________________

Primay: Empty
Secondary: West Coast Pale Ale
Kegerator: Mad Hatter Clone

poolshark021 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2011, 02:05 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

I cannot wrap my mind around what you are saying. Are you hard wiring your rig?

BTW: With the wire your are running, you must install the 30A-240V breaker in the mains panel. It's there to protect the wiring.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2011, 02:11 PM   #5
poolshark021
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 35
Default

Yes the spa box and controls will be hard wired and permanently mounted to the wall, the cables to all the equipment will disconnect from the box.

You answered my question. I just wanted to make sure the 30A breaker goes in the main box and the gfci stays in the spa box.

__________________

Primay: Empty
Secondary: West Coast Pale Ale
Kegerator: Mad Hatter Clone

poolshark021 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2011, 04:48 AM   #6
EarthBound
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 984
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimyfreelala View Post
That is a hugh depends.
You are already proving to be a great contribution to the forum.
__________________

"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

EarthBound is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2011, 07:56 PM   #7
Goblism
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 221
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthBound View Post
You are already proving to be a great contribution to the forum.
LOL

Here is my input.
*The 30amp in the main breaker will protect the equipment.
*The 50amp GFCI spa panel is there for the purpose of protecting you.

You are fine with this setup, the 50amp is oversized for the application but there will be no damage to wiring because the breaker in the main panel will pop.
__________________
Goblism is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2011, 10:23 PM   #8
Maxkling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 485
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimyfreelala View Post
That is a hugh depends.
Hes a bot, look at his previous posts.

Or maybe just trying to increase his post count, who knows.
__________________

"It’s so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and then don’t say it."

"Gun Control Means Using Both Hands."

Maxkling is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HLT and RIMS Questions mykayel Electric Brewing 4 07-12-2011 11:42 PM
Thermocouple questions clay9_24 Electric Brewing 7 06-10-2011 07:04 PM
E-HLT questions killian Electric Brewing 2 04-24-2011 07:54 PM
Power questions... moxie Electric Brewing 1 03-01-2011 08:34 PM
Various E-Herms Questions Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 13 11-16-2010 05:08 PM