Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Purpose of Pigtail on a GFCI Breaker?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2012, 03:47 PM   #1
fluxgame
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 57
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Purpose of Pigtail on a GFCI Breaker?

I'm curious if anyone knows if there's a specific reason why the neutral connection of a GFCI breaker is always coiled. I'd like to straighten the one I have out for cleaner routing, but I wanted to make sure that it won't affect its operation.

__________________
fluxgame is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 03:54 PM   #2
Greatwhite4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edson, Alberta
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

There's no real need for it, as long as the wire is rated for the amp load of the breaker.

__________________
Greatwhite4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 04:04 PM   #3
MoesTavern
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: campbell, ca
Posts: 13
Default

My guess is that it functions as a service loop... so if you install the breaker in an actual load center, then you can reach the neutral bus.

__________________
MoesTavern is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 06:01 PM   #4
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 3,064
Liked 251 Times on 213 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Its coiled to take up less room when a longer neutral lead is not needed. After breaker installation, you can straighten the neutral lead and cut it to length. I just leave them coiled since they are typically in a breaker box that I only rarely open. If you want to do it neater, straighten and shorten.

__________________

Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water

mabrungard is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 09:09 PM   #5
fluxgame
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 57
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks guys. I figured that was the case, but I wanted to check before I potentially ruined such an expensive breaker. I'm concerned about the neatness of it only because I'm going to put all my relays in my spa panel. Tucking that wire out of the way opens up a surprising amount of space.

__________________
fluxgame is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gfci breaker mux Electric Brewing 13 01-08-2012 08:27 PM
Can I use this (gfci breaker) Sanderoll Electric Brewing 6 09-20-2011 02:15 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 02:01 AM
50 amp breaker...20 amp GFCI? jdlev Electric Brewing 2 06-05-2011 08:46 PM
GFCI breaker on control box? Pez Electric Brewing 26 04-25-2011 04:50 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS