New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > power switch question




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2011, 06:31 PM   #1
doulovebeef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita, KS
Posts: 105
Likes Given: 1

Default power switch question

ive been drawing up different designs for a electric brew stand im piecing together but i have a question about the power switch i want to use. i was wondering if the switch in the following link would be able to safely handle 120V at 20 amps? sorry for the noob question, and thanks for all your help guys!

http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/p3996.html



__________________
doulovebeef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 07:57 PM   #2
passedpawn
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 17,487
Liked 2634 Times on 1700 Posts
Likes Given: 2147

Default

It says 12V, so don't use it.

Look at automation direct for switches.



__________________
Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth. There is no spoon.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 08:27 PM   #3
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,220
Liked 50 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 105

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doulovebeef View Post
ive been drawing up different designs for a electric brew stand im piecing together but i have a question about the power switch i want to use. i was wondering if the switch in the following link would be able to safely handle 120V at 20 amps? sorry for the noob question, and thanks for all your help guys!

http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/p3996.html

For direct power On/Off control I use industrial disconnects which you can buy for most amperage rating.

Orange operator



Bottom left, gray switch body



For indirect control (through contactors, relays) I use as passedpawn
suggested AutomationDirect switches.

Indirect control for a brewing application, green switch by AutomationDirect



Cheers,
ClaudiusB
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2011, 09:50 PM   #4
doulovebeef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita, KS
Posts: 105
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaudiusB View Post
For direct power On/Off control I use industrial disconnects which you can buy for most amperage rating.

Orange operator



Bottom left, gray switch body



For indirect control (through contactors, relays) I use as passedpawn
suggested AutomationDirect switches.

Indirect control for a brewing application, green switch by AutomationDirect



Cheers,
ClaudiusB

Yea those are the switches i thought i was looking at, i just want one that illuminates when energized so i have a main cut off switch before the power got to my 'panel'. i have a friend who is very familiar with wiring thats going to help me with the wiring to make sure i dont fry myself.

As for my 'panel', i was thinking about using something like this: PC-100A 8 Channel Power Strip with Lighted Toggles


im only going to run 1 1500W low density element at time, one will be in my hlt and the other (both heat sticks) in my 7 gallon boil kettle (i do 5 gallon batches). do u think one element would be enough to maintain a boil if i was to use propane to get it started? btw, im running off of 120v. i just want to get all this still figured out before i start dropping cash

thank you to all who allow me to pick there brains!
__________________

Last edited by doulovebeef; 01-02-2011 at 09:53 PM. Reason: oops, cant spell
doulovebeef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 01:02 AM   #5
doulovebeef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wichita, KS
Posts: 105
Likes Given: 1

Default

bump

__________________
doulovebeef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 02:28 AM   #6
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,074
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doulovebeef View Post
bump
Why the bump?

Are you looking for another opinion that you should not use a 12v 20amp switch in a 120v 20amp circuit?

You should keep looking...

Ed
__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2011, 01:32 AM   #7
kernal74
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Marlborough, CT
Posts: 34
Default

I built my control panel identical to the one found on www.theelectricbrewery.com. It is based on 220v, but you can find plenty of ideas on what is possible even at the 120v you are looking to run IMO.



__________________
kernal74 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Electric Brewery switch question milldoggy Electric Brewing 1 12-20-2010 08:05 PM
control panel on/off switch stevehaun Electric Brewing 3 12-18-2010 03:49 PM
What kind of switch is this? terrazza Electric Brewing 3 12-11-2010 01:37 AM
Power "In" Question... wottaguy Electric Brewing 6 12-07-2010 05:24 PM
Simple switch question wilceaser Electric Brewing 2 11-18-2010 04:22 PM