The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > power supply cord for e-brew

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2012, 05:34 PM   #1
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default power supply cord for e-brew

Currently in the final stages of a Kal clone and wondering about the main power cord. The breaker box is the house and the brew rig is 45' away in a detached garage. What I want to do is hook the spa panel up inside the house with a dryer plug built in and build a 55' power cord with the dryer plug on one end and the nema on the other. Is this going to be too much resistance? Am I going to have big power loss over the 55'?

__________________
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You're plenty fine. vd at 55' and 25 amps on #10awg is 3.4volts or 1.4%. (3% is max vd)

__________________
grandequeso is offline
stlbeer Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Francus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Francus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 97
Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

4 wire power cords are expensive over 10' in length everywhere I looked. I needed 20' and my solution was to buy 25' of 10awg wire, put the plug Kal recommends on on end and I got a 4 prong plug from eBay for the other. Even though the 4 prong was pricey, by the time you add the wire, prong, and Kal's plug it was still cheaper than getting a custom cord made. And so far it has worked fine. It's a bit stiff, though, as you might imagine, but no biggie. It works.

__________________
Francus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 04:18 PM   #4
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I have a hookup at mcmaster and get the cable for less than $2 foot which is still pricey when u need 60' but it's a lot better than most places.

__________________

littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com

flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 05:25 PM   #5
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 655
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

be sure to check ebay, I just bought 50' 10-awg for about $55 shipped

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 10:09 PM   #6
rack04
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 477
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I think 10/4 sjoow power cable is only rated at 25 amps. You should really be looking at 8/4 soow power cable.

__________________
rack04 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 10:27 PM   #7
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I've seen 14/4 rated at 300v and 30amp per lead...

__________________

littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com

flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 11:13 PM   #8
Ravenshead
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ravenshead's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: League City, Tx
Posts: 1,168
Liked 34 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I'm using 50' of 10 gage in a similar situation. Works great for one heating element at a time. I suspect it will work fine for two but haven't tried it yet.

__________________

[QUOTE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polorl69 View Post
I had no problems whatsoever getting my pee to ferment.
Ravenshead is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2012, 11:35 PM   #9
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I'm only running one element at a time and I think it was 12/4, not 14/4 that I was thinking of.

__________________

littlesagebrewing.wordpress.com

flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2012, 01:52 PM   #10
Francus
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Francus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 97
Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I'm just running one element and 2 pumps max at a time. So far it's worked for me. I have a BCS and it is set up to kill the other element before starting a new element just to be on the safe side.

__________________
Francus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30A GFCI power cord squidtpd Electric Brewing 85 06-22-2013 05:19 AM
Quick Power Cord Question Thundercougarfalconbird Electric Brewing 14 02-08-2012 06:42 PM
Heatstick power cord tarponteaser Electric Brewing 4 08-26-2011 02:24 PM
Power Cord Question McCuckerson Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 09:54 PM
Power cord help MX1 Electric Brewing 5 02-27-2011 08:58 PM