Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Was planning on 120V, now thinking 240V...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2012, 04:50 PM   #11
AlteredEgo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lzrdkng14 View Post
I was planning on using 100 ft 10 gauge...ok?
NO. You should not use a cable with a lower current capacity than the circuit breaker.
__________________
AlteredEgo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 05:04 PM   #12
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,433
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlteredEgo View Post
NO. You should not use a cable with a lower current capacity than the circuit breaker.
In general this is true. But since you've said that the dryer outlet that this is plugged into is a 30A breaker, you're fine using the 10AWG - although 100' is a long run, I'm not sure about that. You know how much 100' 10 gauge is going to cost you right?
bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 05:54 PM   #13
seatbelt123
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 395
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boswell
Seatbelt, have a build thread anywhere? I'm leaning towards this route.
Good idea. I don't. I just built it two weeks ago. I will take some pics and post soon.

It was easy.
__________________
seatbelt123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 07:33 PM   #14
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 400
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

So I've just noticed that 10-4 rubber cord is only rated to 25A. Since this is less than the breaker AND really close to total system current (5500W element + pump + PIDs and such) it seems I should go up to 8-4 to get 35A correct? That stuff ain't cheap.

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 07:49 PM   #15
iijakii
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,504
Liked 53 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 150

Default

Aren't most 10/4 cords 30amp? Maybe that was just due to the insulation.

__________________
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 07:57 PM   #16
lzrdkng14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin_ale

In general this is true. But since you've said that the dryer outlet that this is plugged into is a 30A breaker, you're fine using the 10AWG - although 100' is a long run, I'm not sure about that. You know how much 100' 10 gauge is going to cost you right?
125 bucks. I already bought it!
__________________
lzrdkng14 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 08:03 PM   #17
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 400
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
Aren't most 10/4 cords 30amp? Maybe that was just due to the insulation.
Well the stuff Home Depot has (Cerro Wire) is only 25A, as is anything McMaster has. But I just found this that is 30A as well as nice and cheap. I'll be going with it.

http://lockingpowercords.com/Products/513-104-soow-wire.aspx
__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 08:47 PM   #18
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,821
Liked 132 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Here's another one for 10/4. http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=18361

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 09:25 PM   #19
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,433
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Interesting.. from the above website:

"UL General-Use guidance for Ampacity of current-carrying conductors is contingent upon length (50 Feet or less) and number of current carrying conductors. Fifty Feet or less 30 amp with 2 hots and 25 amp with 3 hots. Over Fifty Feet 25 amp with 2 hots and 20 amp with 3 hots."

__________________
San Jose Homebrew Club - The Grain Trust
bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 10:38 PM   #20
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,248
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 436

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerklein2 View Post
Dryer outlet is 4 prong. On the power output side, is that just your cable exiting through a cable gland or something? Or did you put a panel mount outlet on the side?
Here is a picture of the panel that someone set up with the outlet directly mounted in it. On his setup he used bx cable for the feed. I believe you will be using a plug and cord for the input power.




I hope this helps you.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about 120v BIAB setup theschick Electric Brewing 41 01-13-2012 01:29 AM
120v/2000w & 240v/5500w together in keggle Flyin Electric Brewing 11 09-17-2011 05:42 AM
can someone help with 120v? agezzi Electric Brewing 58 08-15-2011 11:12 AM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 06:15 PM