Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Was planning on 120V, now thinking 240V...
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2012, 03:37 AM   #1
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 400
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Was planning on 120V, now thinking 240V...

I was originally planning on building my system for 240V since my only outlet is in my utility closet and I'm in an apartment. Now I've decided I'll be brewing on the balcony and was going to have a 25ft. cable run for my 120V system anyway.

I have a couple concerns that I wanted to ask this board. First, for the 240V outlet I'd have to do a cable run of something like 32-35ft. With a 10-4 SOOW cable rated for 30A, is this too long? A calculator I found online comes up with .035 ohms for 35ft of 10AWG wire. At 240V that's 20W. I don't really have a frame of reference for how bad that is.

My 2nd concern is GFI. My dryer outlet does not currently have GFI protection at the breaker. Since it's an apartment, I don't think getting one installed is an option. Could I put one inside my control box and still get the safety I need? Are there any other options or should I stick to 120V?

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 03:43 AM   #2
frankstoneline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ellensburg, washington
Posts: 375
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

You can get an inline GFI or something like a spa panel for the GFI issue. I dont have an answer for the cord length issue though

frankstoneline is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 03:53 AM   #3
cl330b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 466
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

10-4 is fine for 35'. I have made runs quite a bit further than that with out any trouble with 10 gauge.

__________________
cl330b is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 04:01 AM   #4
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 400
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thanks. I've just found those inline GFIs. Unfortunately they are not cheap at all. A spa panel at Home Depot is $50 but it's unclear what it's connection is. Are there connectors on it or do I run wire straight into it?

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 11:17 AM   #5
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DeafSmith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,447
Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

You run wire straight into it. Buy a dryer cord at the hardware store and strip the ends of the wires - insert these into the terminal blocks, tighten the screws to secure and you have the input side connected.

__________________
DeafSmith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 12:41 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerklein2 View Post
Thanks. I've just found those inline GFIs. Unfortunately they are not cheap at all. A spa panel at Home Depot is $50 but it's unclear what it's connection is. Are there connectors on it or do I run wire straight into it?
Is your dryer outlet a 4 prong or 3 prong outlet?

I've made drawings for both setups using the HomeDepot GE Spa Panel that might help you.




__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 02:34 PM   #7
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 400
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Dryer outlet is 4 prong. On the power output side, is that just your cable exiting through a cable gland or something? Or did you put a panel mount outlet on the side?

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 03:28 PM   #8
seatbelt123
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 395
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

In case you are interested I just did my second batch on my 120v system. I use two 2000w elements and a simple switch box to turn them on and off. I do all grain BIAB.

With both elements on its easy to get 6 or 7 gallons up to boil. I can keep it boiling with just one element. Or turn on both for an aggressive boil.

Scorching has not been a problem either.

Picture after yesterday's 90 minute boil...

image-2821071985.jpg  
__________________
seatbelt123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 03:47 PM   #9
boswell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 370
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Seatbelt, have a build thread anywhere? I'm leaning towards this route.

__________________
boswell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 04:38 PM   #10
lzrdkng14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cl330b
10-4 is fine for 35'. I have made runs quite a bit further than that with out any trouble with 10 gauge.
I was planning on using 100 ft 10 gauge...ok?
__________________
lzrdkng14 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about 120v BIAB setup theschick Electric Brewing 41 01-13-2012 01:29 AM
120v/2000w & 240v/5500w together in keggle Flyin Electric Brewing 11 09-17-2011 05:42 AM
can someone help with 120v? agezzi Electric Brewing 58 08-15-2011 11:12 AM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 06:15 PM