Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Planned simple 1 element build

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2011, 04:38 PM   #1
mrbippers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 53
Default Planned simple 1 element build

I've been planning things out for a while and want to get the parts ordered pretty soon, but figured it's best I put the plan up here for comments first. I'm looking at doing a single 5500W element run by PID/SSR. This is all 240V wiring as I'm using a 30A 3wire GFCI line cord. The only thing beyond the basic is a DPST switch to control the element. Thanks.

__________________
mrbippers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

Looks good to me. What kind of 2-pole switch are you using? You could just do a main power switch by switching the power to the PID. If the PID is dead, your element wont fire. Of course one leg to the element would always be hot...

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:13 PM   #3
mrbippers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
Of course one leg to the element would always be hot...
That's the part I want to avoid if possible. For the switch I plan on using this one that I have seen recommended in other threads.
__________________
mrbippers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:17 PM   #4
kevink
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 441
Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

That's pretty much what I built, but instead of a switch I use an Auber contactor to kill both hot legs to the element. Is cheap and easy to wire up. Check it out in my system:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/keg-ekeggle-conversion-pics-259848/

__________________
kevink is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:46 PM   #5
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbippers

That's the part I want to avoid if possible. For the switch I plan on using this one that I have seen recommended in other threads.
It's really not a big deal as long as you KNOW it's hot. But the switch looks good. The contactor as mentioned is another good option. The contactor can also be rated for the full 30A of your breaker.
__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:47 PM   #6
kevink
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 441
Liked 44 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Sorry, I just noticed that the Auber contactor won't work for you as the coil is 120V and it doesn't look like you're going to have 120V in your panel. Carry on...

Edit- Auber also has a contactor with a 240V coil, so you should be good to go.

__________________
kevink is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:52 PM   #7
clearwaterbrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 263
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
It's really not a big deal as long as you KNOW it's hot. But the switch looks good. The contactor as mentioned is another good option. The contactor can also be rated for the full 30A of your breaker.
agreed.. one leg of you water heater, dryer, a/c, etc are hot in most instances also.. if you are worried about danger, whatever it is, that same 'danger' is there when the element is powered...
__________________
clearwaterbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 05:59 PM   #8
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterbrewer

agreed.. one leg of you water heater, dryer, a/c, etc are hot in most instances also.. if you are worried about danger, whatever it is, that same 'danger' is there when the element is powered...
Good point. And all of those appliances require a disconnect by code. A cord/plug is an approved disconnect so you are covered.
__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 06:33 PM   #9
mrbippers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 53
Default

Okay so sounds like I might just skip the switch.

Another quick question for anyone who knows their NEC code. I currently have a main panel, a sub panel connected by a breaker in the main, and an additional panel 50a/240V panel for my stove connected to feed-thru lugs in the main. Is it okay to connect a second panel for the 30a kettle supply to the feed-thru lugs or am I only allowed to feed one panel? Hooking up a second box is easier than upgrading the first with more space and heavier wire.

__________________
mrbippers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 06:54 PM   #10
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbippers
Okay so sounds like I might just skip the switch.

Another quick question for anyone who knows their NEC code. I currently have a main panel, a sub panel connected by a breaker in the main, and an additional panel 50a/240V panel for my stove connected to feed-thru lugs in the main. Is it okay to connect a second panel for the 30a kettle supply to the feed-thru lugs or am I only allowed to feed one panel? Hooking up a second box is easier than upgrading the first with more space and heavier wire.
I would put some sort of main switch in your panel. We were just giving you some other options. As drawn should work fine.

Most lugs are not rated for more than one conductor so adding another tap to your feed through lugs may not be correct. You could replace the stove panel with a small load-center and gain a few future breakers while at it. Six service disconnects is the rule. You have two now if I understand correctly.
__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Brutus 20 Electric Build digg1es Electric Brewing 10 08-15-2012 11:03 PM
My two 5500 watt element 1 PID and SSR build bigljd Electric Brewing 51 07-27-2012 03:22 AM
Simple Electric Build....From the Pros ekjohns Electric Brewing 111 04-10-2012 11:19 PM
another simple e build wncbrewer Electric Brewing 4 06-27-2011 12:41 AM
Simple Electricity Design - 1 Element Martin2D Electric Brewing 2 11-28-2010 12:21 AM