*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > PID with two heating elements and how to wire it?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2011, 06:40 AM   #21
diS
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,018
Liked 46 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I changed diagram minute after you posted

Can I control element by switches I inserted above? That is main power switch which sends AC to SSR.. so if SSR dont have 220V power it can"t turn on element.
Also, why do I need these two switches (I saw many diagrams without them)?

Would this be appropriate for main power switch:
1 pcs Key Switch ON/OFF Lock Switch 11.3x24mm S1203-8 | eBay

__________________
diS is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2011, 12:57 PM   #22
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

No, for several reasons.

It's only rated for 1 Amp at 250V.
It will only disconnect one side of the 220V line.
What are you going to do if you need to turn things off in a hurry and can't find the key?

I went looking for a push button emergency stop switch on eBay and everything is only rated at 10 Amps.

So instead I looked for 30 Amp breakers and found this one that can be panel mounted.
BLUE SEA 7238 CIRCUIT BREAKER AA2 30A WHT 7238 (632085072384) | eBay

I also found them here for less - eBay is not always a deal:
Blue Sea 7238 Circuit BRKR 30 Amp White Double Pole

It's a 2 pole breaker - you would run your two 220VAC hot wires into one side then feed out of the other side to your controls.

__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2011, 01:26 PM   #23
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,259
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
...
It will only disconnect one side of the 220V line.
...
Just something to keep in mind. The OP is from Croatia. Power distribution is very different there. 220V AC is delivered as a hot and a neutral. The neutral is at ground potential and 120V is not available there.

With his situation the switches do not need to be double pole devices.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2011, 01:34 PM   #24
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,839
Liked 136 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Just something to keep in mind. The OP is from Croatia. Power distribution is very different there. 220V AC is delivered as a hot and a neutral. The neutral is at ground potential and 120V is not available there.

With his situation the switches do not need to be double pole devices.
I need to gain much more competency with two-phase 240V before taking any graduate level three-phase courses from you guys, lol.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2011, 02:09 PM   #25
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Just something to keep in mind. The OP is from Croatia. Power distribution is very different there. 220V AC is delivered as a hot and a neutral. The neutral is at ground potential and 120V is not available there.

With his situation the switches do not need to be double pole devices.
This is true everywhere in Europe.
__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 02:36 PM   #26
rex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I am looking to do something similar.

Two 120V legs
Two 2000W elements with switches
E Stop
Two SSR's
PID
Two pumps with switches

How can I put a main on/off keyed switch?

__________________
www.getfirefox.com
rex is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 12:46 PM   #27
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rex View Post
I am looking to do something similar.

Two 120V legs
Two 2000W elements with switches
E Stop
Two SSR's
PID
Two pumps with switches

How can I put a main on/off keyed switch?
You can with this dual breaker without a key.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CHQQ8wIwBg#

The hot leg from one circuit would run through one breaker and the hot leg from the other circuit would run through the other breaker.
__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advise on heating elements BamaRooster Electric Brewing 4 11-04-2011 03:34 PM
looking for clarification on heating elements for RIMS kegtoe Electric Brewing 8 10-24-2011 04:45 PM
Holes for heating elements? lonepalm Electric Brewing 5 07-31-2011 09:22 PM
Question on heating elements ddknight Electric Brewing 0 07-06-2011 04:09 AM
Those using JB Weld to mount heating elements . . . Squeeky Electric Brewing 8 02-12-2011 10:08 PM