New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > PID problems




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default PID problems

Finished my panel today and when I went to test it my main breaker blew when I switched on the PIDS. After some troubleshooting, I disconnected everything from both PIDS and bypassed the switch. I ran wires straight from my neutral and hot bus to the PIDS and they still trip the breaker. Am I missing something hear??? BTW, they're both brand new.



__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Posts: 21,734
Liked 853 Times on 572 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

How about a make and model number for the PIDs to start with?



__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 09:44 PM   #3
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
How about a make and model number for the PIDs to start with?
Excellent point! Auberin 2352.
__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2011, 09:51 PM   #4
Psych
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 747
Liked 29 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Have you checked your ground on anything that is grounded? I know the PID's aren't but they're connected to your element and such, is that all grounded?

I'd start by removing some things, like take off the element (careful not to leave bare live wires or anything!) and see if your breaker blows still. Once it doesn't, the last thing you removed is causing the issue.

Very little chance your PID's themselves are causing it unless you've got them wired totally wrong, but since they only take 2 wires to power up that's likely not it.

Psych is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 12:22 AM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

bowhuntah,

Quick question for you. Do you have an E-Stop wired into your panel? If you do, what type switch is it - N/C push button or a N/O push button switch. (And is it a locking PB switch?)

P-J

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 01:25 AM   #6
adam01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lucas, Tx
Posts: 326
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Are you sure you are using the correct terminals ?
#9 and #10 from my spec.

Ohm out the terminals - with the power off & disconnected. What value do you get?
Since you're blowing the breaker, it would have to be 4 or less ohms.

__________________
adam01 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 01:52 AM   #7
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Paul, I haven't installed the E-stop yet.

9&10 are what I'm using.

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 03:25 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowhuntah View Post
Paul, I haven't installed the E-stop yet.

9&10 are what I'm using.
Hmmm. I think we need to talk.. Please? PM me a number and time? (Evening time?)
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 05:07 PM   #9
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Looks like it's my breaker. I installed a GFCI breaker in my breaker box to power my control panel. If I wire it to a different breaker it works fine. I went as far as wiring the PID directly to the breaker and it still trips.

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2011, 07:32 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 71 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowhuntah View Post
Looks like it's my breaker. I installed a GFCI breaker in my breaker box to power my control panel. If I wire it to a different breaker it works fine. I went as far as wiring the PID directly to the breaker and it still trips.
This does not necessarily mean that your breaker is bad.

Your were tripping the GFCI breaker.
You are not tripping a normal breaker.

You could have a ground fault, but a normal breaker will not trip when there is ground fault.

Wire a power cord to the PID and plug it into a 120V FCGI outlet in your house somewhere and see if THAT causes the GFCI in the outlet to trip. That will rule out a ground fault in the PID and point the finger at the GFCI breaker.


__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with my Volt Meter acefaser Electric Brewing 13 01-03-2012 03:01 PM
Any Major problems with this wiring plan? aludwig Electric Brewing 12 12-14-2011 01:59 AM
Anyone have switch problems? brooklanebrewing Electric Brewing 7 11-18-2011 02:25 AM
AMP & Volt Meter questions / problems. rvklein Electric Brewing 5 02-09-2011 12:44 PM
Minibrew HLT - condensation problems billvon Electric Brewing 1 11-13-2010 08:25 PM