Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > PID Autotune Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
Brewbien
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 616
Liked 138 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default PID Autotune Question

I have an Auber 2451 PID/Timer. After auto tuning, the temp probe always reads about 4 degrees hotter than the set point (verified with a separate thermometer). Any suggestions on fixing this?

__________________
Brewbien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2013, 11:47 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Read item 4.8 in the PID user manual.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 04:16 PM   #3
Brewbien
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 616
Liked 138 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Read item 4.8 in the PID user manual.
Thanks PJ. Quick question on that. If I adjust the offset, am I assuming that the pid is right and probe is wrong? Or am I telling the pid that it needs to compensate 4 degrees lower?
__________________
Brewbien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 04:46 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewbien View Post
Thanks PJ. Quick question on that. If I adjust the offset, am I assuming that the pid is right and probe is wrong? Or am I telling the pid that it needs to compensate 4 degrees lower?
You are telling the PID to compensate.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
Brewbien Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 06:05 PM   #5
Brewbien
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 616
Liked 138 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

Now the PID reads the right temp but my thermometer still reads 4 degrees high. Do I just have to adjust the setpoint of the pid to a lower temp or is there a way to make it it accurate? If it helps, my system is a recirculating e-BIAB.

PS. Thanks for your help. I wouldn't have been able to build my system without reading through all the help you've given others.

__________________
Brewbien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2013, 10:23 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewbien View Post
Now the PID reads the right temp but my thermometer still reads 4 degrees high. Do I just have to adjust the setpoint of the pid to a lower temp or is there a way to make it it accurate? If it helps, my system is a recirculating e-BIAB.

PS. Thanks for your help. I wouldn't have been able to build my system without reading through all the help you've given others.
Now I do not understand what you are saying:

First you said:
Quote:
temp probe always reads about 4 degrees hotter than the set point (verified with a separate thermometer)
Then you said:
Quote:
Now the PID reads the right temp but my thermometer still reads 4 degrees high.
Which is it??? You initially based your info of the thermometer as you reference. Now what????
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2013, 06:26 AM   #7
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 932
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

P-J, I am right there with you on this, as in confused.....

BrewB,

if it was me, this is what I would do.

1. Calibrate thermometer using the ice bath and again using boiling water. Be sure to know waht temp you water boils at your elevation.

2. after calibrating the thermometer, if you can adjust it, do so. If not make note of how far it is off.

3. Set your PID to temp mode, and place probe in boiling water.

4. Check against your calibrated thermometer (apply correction if needed)

5. Make adjustment to PID to read the correct temp.

Again, make sure that you are using the temp of boiling water at your elevation as your High Side base line.

Boil Temp at Altitude

Tim

__________________

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1: Bitter End IPA
Ferm 2: Coffee Stout

On Deck: Colorado Common Cream Ale

Keg 1: House Amber Ale
Keg 2:

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 30

MX1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2013, 01:07 AM   #8
Brewbien
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 616
Liked 138 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Now I do not understand what you are saying:

First you said:
Then you said:
Which is it??? You initially based your info of the thermometer as you reference. Now what????
Sorry for the confusion. Ill try stating my issue a different way to see if that helps.

Originally I would set my pid for 152 and when it got up to temp, both my probe thats connected to the pid and a seperate thermometer would read about 156. So the PID was overshooting the temp by 4 degrees. You said to change the offset by 4 degrees which I did and the pid readout changed to 152 but the thermometer still reads 156. So that just changes the number that is displayed by 4 degrees, it doesnt tell the pid to compensate for the difference in actual temperature. So I need to figure out how to get the pid to heat to 152 when i set it to 152 instead of heating to 156 when i set it to 152.

Does that help?
__________________
Brewbien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2013, 08:06 AM   #9
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 932
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

set it for 148

__________________

"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"

Ferm 1: Bitter End IPA
Ferm 2: Coffee Stout

On Deck: Colorado Common Cream Ale

Keg 1: House Amber Ale
Keg 2:

Total Gallons brewed (2014) - 30

MX1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2013, 10:41 AM   #10
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,832
Liked 133 Times on 114 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

I think you need to reset the PID so the probe agrees with the correct temperature, based upon your reference thermometer (assuming that it is correct). Then run the autotune again.

Setting the offset to -4 would be the appropriate procedure if your probe were reading 4 degrees above correct temperature. Rather, if you are overshooting the set point by 4 degrees (and the probe is reading accurately), your PID parameters are not correct for your system.

Here is a good write-up of the PID setup procedure. http://www.theelectricbrewery.com/control-panel-setup

__________________
jeffmeh is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with PID autotune movet22 Electric Brewing 11 01-09-2014 10:25 PM
autotune a mypin ta7 makokiller Automated Brewing Forum 1 06-11-2013 02:55 AM
PID Autotune Goes to Boil Chugmaster Electric Brewing 6 03-07-2013 06:06 PM
when to start autotune canyonbrewer Electric Brewing 1 12-18-2011 06:10 PM
To autotune or not? redman67 Electric Brewing 31 01-23-2011 01:26 AM