Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Panel GFCI Breaker
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 05:27 PM   #11
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Wow, $50. Thanks for the link. We'll be driving by a HD this weekend. I may just have to go ahead and pick that up.

I I run 4 wire to it, I have to run 4 wire and a new outlet, thus a new plug for my stove too then right? Wouldn't the stove not have a 4th wire? This part confuses me. I guess I'll have to confirm my stove being 3-4 first.
This depends on when the stove was wired and installed. If you change the stove wiring to a 4 prong/wire outlet/cord you just need to change the bonding strap in the stove so that neutral and ground are isolated in the stove. It is very easy to do once you have the stove pulled out.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 05:28 PM   #12
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43,814
Liked 2813 Times on 2758 Posts
Likes Given: 124

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
This depends on when the stove was wired and installed. If you change the stove wiring to a 4 prong/wire outlet/cord you just need to change the bonding strap in the stove so that neutral and ground are isolated in the stove. It is very easy to do once you have the stove pulled out.
Cool thanks. Should be able to answer my questions then by pulling the stove out. Now, how to get swmbo out of the house to avoid questions about pulling the stove out to rewire it.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 05:57 PM   #13
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

I don't think all Siemens breakers fit all panels but I found one at a local Home Depot or Lowes (don't remember which) that was labeled for my box. I looked at another (same HD or Lowes) store and they didn't have them , just happened to be in this store and there it was. You might look around a bit and get lucky.

I prefer the GFCI in the breaker panel... fewer pieces to deal with.

Ed

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 09:43 PM   #14
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43,814
Liked 2813 Times on 2758 Posts
Likes Given: 124

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
I prefer the GFCI in the breaker panel... fewer pieces to deal with.

Ed
This was my thinking too with with the breaker in the box. I'll look at home depot if we stop in this weekend. It's ~40 minutes away though. I'll have to write down the specifics of my box.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 07:37 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 08:20 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS