Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Panel GFCI Breaker

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 01:15 PM   #1
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,551
Liked 2762 Times on 2713 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default Panel GFCI Breaker

Looking at the two options for a 50A GFCI breaker. In box breaker vs spa panel. I have a standard 50A breaker in the box now for my range that I'll be piggy backing off of (Yes I know I won't be able to use my stove while brewing and yes I've checked with a local electrician who says this is fine and will doing the termination at the box). I'll be using the setup in my current garage for 1-2 years until I build a new garage with a dedicated 100A service. (after upgrading the house to 300A).

If I go with a 50A GFCI breaker, I will keep the standard one to put back in the box when I move the operation to the new garage taking the GFCI one with me.

If I go with a spa panel, I just unwire it from the box and take it with me to the new garage. Really doesn't matter either way I suppose. Price is where the question comes into play. At lowes last night I saw 50A spa panels for $82 and $110. The $110 was a plastic box and I like the design better as far as closing and latching the box. They did not have any 50AFGCI loose breakers for my Siemen's box. I'm looking online and seeing them around $70 bucks. Looks good to me. I want to clarify one thing though. All I know of my box is that it is Siemens. Do all Siemens breakers fit all Siemens boxes? Or are there different types or styles? Also, I'm assuming I can just look at my existing stove to see if I need 3 or 4 wires. Or is beneficial/possible to use 4 for the brewery even if my stove is 3? I do have an electrical background, but it is electronics, not 240. I'm comfortable doing the work with proper safety as long as I clear up a few questions here.

Long post to ask that last question, but working in field service, I know the more info I can provide, the more solutions and options I'm likely to get.

Thanks. The bolded questions are really what I'm looking for.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 01:40 PM   #2
kjackbrown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 33
Default

LOL! Your sig is freakin hilarious!

Keep in mind that if you do pull a fourth wire...you will need to change the plug and outlet for the stove. I'm in the process of upgrading my service to my (detached) garage to 60a for my brewery build. I've now grounded the main panel at the house (built in mid 1920's so no grounds before) and will install another ground at the new sub panel at the garage location. I'm pulling #6, four conductor, wires to that location.

Sparky, here on HBT, helped me out quite a bit with info on what I needed to do. You might want to hit him up. He's very informative!

__________________
kjackbrown is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 01:44 PM   #3
kjackbrown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 33
Default

Here is my thread which he helped me on.
__________________
kjackbrown is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 02:00 PM   #4
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

The benefit to running 4 wires (Hot/Hot/Neutral/Ground) is that you can split that off in to 120v in your control panel for your brewery. This will allow you to run the PID/Pumps, and any things else that runs on 120V with out running a second cord to your control panel. Personally I'd go with the Spa Panel, or a 240v GFCI Cord.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 02:06 PM   #5
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,551
Liked 2762 Times on 2713 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
The benefit to running 4 wires (Hot/Hot/Neutral/Ground) is that you can split that off in to 120v in your control panel for your brewery. This will allow you to run the PID/Pumps, and any things else that runs on 120V with out running a second cord to your control panel. Personally I'd go with the Spa Panel, or a 240v GFCI Cord.
Those cords are stupid expensive! ANy reasoning behind the spa panel over the breaker? Breaker is $70 as apposed to $110 for the spa panel.
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 02:19 PM   #6
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=350425166456&ssPageNam e=STRK:MEWAX:IT
$77.00 on Ebay. The SpaPanel just keeps things separate, cleaner for when you migrate to the garage.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 02:58 PM   #7
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,551
Liked 2762 Times on 2713 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

Thanks, but I don't see anything for 50A.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 03:17 PM   #8
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Thanks, but I don't see anything for 50A.
If you're looking for a 50A cord then you will be spending the big bucks like you mentioned above. JMO but I like the Spa Panel, either way is perfectly acceptable though, and some like to have the GFCI as far upstream as possible.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:05 PM   #9
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DeafSmith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,447
Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Those cords are stupid expensive! ANy reasoning behind the spa panel over the breaker? Breaker is $70 as apposed to $110 for the spa panel.
If you go with the spa panel, this one at Home Depot is cheaper:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?keyword=spa+disconnect+panel&langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053
__________________
DeafSmith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 04:11 PM   #10
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,551
Liked 2762 Times on 2713 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

Wow, $50. Thanks for the link. We'll be driving by a HD this weekend. I may just have to go ahead and pick that up.

I I run 4 wire to it, I have to run 4 wire and a new outlet, thus a new plug for my stove too then right? Wouldn't the stove not have a 4th wire? This part confuses me. I guess I'll have to confirm my stove being 3-4 first.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 06:42 PM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 06:37 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 07:52 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-28-2010 11:06 PM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 07:20 PM