Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > is this outlet 15A or 20A
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2013, 01:07 AM   #1
jesserizzo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 87
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default is this outlet 15A or 20A

Not electric brewing related, just general electricity question.

Is this outlet a 15A or a 20A? It doesn't have the cross on the neutral plug, but over on the left side it says 125V 20A. You can't see it on the bottom, stamped on the metal just above the screw, it says 125V 15A.

Probably just a typo, but wondering if anyone can shed more light on this. I'll probably replace it just be safe, since a new outlet costs considerably less than a new house if this one burns down.

img_20130726_192754.jpg  
__________________
jesserizzo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
SpentGrains
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 248
Liked 39 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Check the circuit breaker, upgrading the outlet wont make it a 20a service.

__________________
SpentGrains is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 01:16 AM   #3
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 777
Liked 63 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

The receptacle is 15A. It's rated to protect a 20A load on its load terminals. However, that rating is dependent on the wire and circuit breaker size of the branch circuit it's installed in.

__________________
On Tap:
NippleRub Ultra
Ranger(ish) IPA clone
Big Breasted Blonde
Rochefort 7

In the Chamber:
Nothing

Next Up:
Re-a-Ranger IPA
An Amber of some sort
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

It is a 15A GFCI outlet.

Here is a 20A GFI oulet:

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 05:41 PM   #5
jesserizzo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 87
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post
The receptacle is 15A. It's rated to protect a 20A load on its load terminals. However, that rating is dependent on the wire and circuit breaker size of the branch circuit it's installed in.
Thanks. That's weird. If the rest of the branch circuit is good for 20A, why would it be safe and/or desirable to install a 15A outlet?
__________________
jesserizzo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2013, 08:39 PM   #6
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,590
Liked 124 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

It is perfectly acceptable by NEC to install 15A receptacles on 20A breaker as long as there is more than one outlet. A duplex, like in your picture, counts as two so just one of those (or more) is, again, perfectly acceptable by Code to be on a 20A breaker.

Desirable, well, dunno about that but often somewhat less expensive and the overwhelming majority of cord connected loads in a residential environment don't have a cord or the power draw that requires the 20A-style outlet. So, in most cases there is little point to install 20A receptacles in a home yet with the 20A circuit you have 33% more load capacity than if it was a 15A circuit.

__________________

Primary: Pre-prohibition Lager
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Chinook IPA
Drinking: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 02:02 PM   #7
nab911
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 200
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Rather than create a new thread, Ill just post this here as it is directly related.

My apartment has 2 of these exact outlets in the kitchen and the breakers are both 20A. This is my only brewing option for the next 1/2 year so is there any problem with using a "15A" plug on a 10/3 cable going to this outlet for a 2000W element?

Example plug: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pass-Seym...202039721-_-N#

thanks in advance!

__________________
nab911 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 07:55 PM   #8
sonex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: dillsburg, pa
Posts: 377
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If your asking if its ok to use a 15A plug in a 20A GFI then yes, As long as your wire from the plug is 12 gauge.

__________________
sonex is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 07:58 PM   #9
nab911
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 200
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

I was asking if I could use a 15A plug with a 20A draw on a 15A GFI outlet on a 20A circuit... lol. The common use of 15A GFI outlets on 20A circuits is the case here.

Either way, I have decided to not risk it and I asked the maintenance if they would swap out the sockets and if they don't, ill sack up and replace them myself and just swap em back when I move out.

__________________
nab911 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2014, 08:21 PM   #10
sonex
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: dillsburg, pa
Posts: 377
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Then no, the GFI would trip.

__________________
sonex is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chugger pump with a switched outlet and constant outlet Rivenin DIY Projects 1 05-19-2012 05:06 AM
Getting 240VAC outlet in kitchen .. oven outlet? jdonagher Electric Brewing 12 01-30-2012 01:57 AM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 03:57 AM
GFI outlet question kappclark DIY Projects 17 08-30-2010 12:32 AM
GFI outlet vs breaker bkloos DIY Projects 3 06-27-2010 02:16 PM