Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Odd GFCI Connections?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2010, 07:41 PM   #1
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Odd GFCI Connections?

Hey all-

Got a 30A 2P GFCI to put inside my control box. The load side and neutral make total sense to me, but the line side has these odd connections, almost like "clips"...I assume the breaker is intended to snap into an electrical panel. How do I adapt this to be mounted into a small box, fed by a dryer cord? Here's an EXAMPLE of what I'm talking about; look on the bottom left.....

ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 07:54 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

That's probably going to be a bit of a pain in the butt to adapt. Those clamps are indeed meant to snap down onto the power rails in a breaker box. Each manufacturer has it's own style of doing things, too, so a breaker made by Seimens will not fit into a breaker box made by SquareD.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 08:00 PM   #3
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Crap. What would you recommend? This thing wasn't cheap, even used......

ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
Crap. What would you recommend? This thing wasn't cheap, even used......
Yeah, I know those GFCI breakers can get pricey.

Ideally, you want GFI protection at the earliest possible point in your system.
So, I would have suggested that you put a GFI breaker in your house's breaker box and NOT in your control panel.

Do you happen to have a breaker box that matches the breaker you bought? If so, you might be able to put this breaker into the panel in place of the breaker that is currently there.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 08:47 PM   #5
shushikiary
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: denver
Posts: 161
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

You can do what I did and put a breaker in the main box made by Square D and then when I got my GFCI off ebay used it was a Simens, so I got a small 15 buck Simens single breaker box and put the 50 amp GFCI in it and ran the output of the breaker in the main box to it and installed it in the wall.

It was still cheaper than buying a new GFCI for my Square D breaker box.

Sense I ran a new circuit and there isnt anything else on it before the GFCI, but yet still a breaker between the GFCI and the main, it's still to code and safe.

__________________
shushikiary is offline
milesvdustin Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shushikiary View Post
It was still cheaper than buying a new GFCI for my Square D breaker box.
I got lucky there. I have a SquareD panel at my house and found a new-in-box 50A 2-pole GFI breaker on ebay for only $35. VERY good deal.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 10:17 PM   #7
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

No dice. Got a Eaton/Cutler Hammer panel and a Sq D breaker I wanted it in my box so I could take the GFCI with me everywhere.

So there's no adapter for this type of connection?

What if I get 2 cheaper single pole models and break both legs that way?

__________________
UNIBREW 5500 SINGLE VESSEL BREWERY
WOODEN SINGLE TIER
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 10:29 PM   #8
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
So there's no adapter for this type of connection?
Not that I am aware of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
What if I get 2 cheaper single pole models and break both legs that way?
I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, but the GFI protection has to be implemented with a single breaker that monitors both hots and the neutral in order for it to work, so whatever you are talking about probably isn't a good route to explore.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 10:37 PM   #9
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
Not that I am aware of.



I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, but the GFI protection has to be implemented with a single breaker that monitors both hots and the neutral in order for it to work, so whatever you are talking about probably isn't a good route to explore.
I guess I meant a GFCI for each hot.

A couple more questions:

1. So what kind of GFCI's DON'T have these kind of panel connects?
2. Can I sell my existing GFCI, buy a Cutler Hammer, put it in my panel, and have it protect BOTH my dryer outlet and an outlet in the garage?
__________________
UNIBREW 5500 SINGLE VESSEL BREWERY
WOODEN SINGLE TIER
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2010, 10:45 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
I guess I meant a GFCI for each hot.
That won't work. GFI works by monitoring all of the current flowing through all of the wires at the same time. Since you are running in 240V, a single GFI circuit has to be watching both hots and the neutral (if you are using the neutral inside your control panel.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
A couple more questions:

1. So what kind of GFCI's DON'T have these kind of panel connects?
2. Can I sell my existing GFCI, buy a Cutler Hammer, put it in my panel, and have it protect BOTH my dryer outlet and an outlet in the garage?
1. For 240V GFI protection, I don't know that I have ever seen it offered in any way other than as part of a breaker that is mean to be snapped into a panel. There might be other ways of getting GFI, but I'm betting that anything else that exists is going to be MUCH more expensive than the breaker type of GFI.

2. You can certainly put a cutler hammer GFI breaker in a cutler hammer panel. It will protect whatever wires are connected to the breaker.

I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean about the 2 outlets, though. How is your house wired up right now? I'm confused. Do you have a breaker in the panel that is feeding your dryer? Where does this outlet in the garage come into play? Is this something you also currently have in your garage? Is it being driven by the same breaker that your dryer is on or is it being driven by a different breaker.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI keeps blowing Cybershadow Electric Brewing 51 12-22-2010 05:14 PM
my take on covering the heating element connections Broncobum Electric Brewing 30 11-05-2010 06:25 PM
Show me your waterproof heatstick connections CoalCracker Electric Brewing 3 10-27-2010 08:42 PM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 08:53 PM
Multiple GFCI wiring question Cpt_Kirks Electric Brewing 8 10-20-2010 03:22 PM