Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > New E-Build - Service Panel Question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 02:25 PM   #1
chadillac7819
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 38
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default New E-Build - Service Panel Question

After a tragic brew-day where I lost my entire Saison and burned the $#!* out of my right foot I decided to ditch my old set up (two cooler, three tier, system) and finally upgrade my 15 gal BK with a RIMS, two keggles, and a pump.

Initially I was just going to send power to my RIMS tube and direct fire the rest but after reading a lot of the posts on this site I think it makes sense to go all electric for control and costs but I don't know how many amps I have available on my service panel. I have an available 240v power source on the panel from the old water heater (I had an on demand system installed) but I'm not sure if its a 60A or just 30A. Below is a picture with the referenced breaker turned off.

I am pretty handy but don't really know squat about electrical systems and I greatly appreciate any advice on how to attack this build.

service-panel.jpg  
__________________
chadillac7819 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 04:38 PM   #2
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 611
Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

This looks like 240v (2x 120V phase) @ 30 amps.
Many electric builds use this power source for a 240V element up to 5500Watts. You just can't run multiple elements at the same time. Also make sure you have GFCI protection.

__________________
jCOSbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 04:39 PM   #3
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 611
Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

This looks like 240v (2x 120V phase) @ 30 amps.
Many electric builds use this power source for a 240V element up to 5500Watts. You just can't run multiple elements at the same time. Also make sure you have GFCI protection.

If you still have the water heater, it might be handy to start strike water at 160 degF instead of 60 degF.

__________________
jCOSbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 04:55 PM   #4
crazyirishman34
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,359
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 81

Default

Do you know the manufacturer of your service box? Those breakers look to be pretty old.

__________________
crazyirishman34 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 08:43 PM   #5
chadillac7819
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 38
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyirishman34 View Post
Do you know the manufacturer of your service box? Those breakers look to be pretty old.
it looks like Fedferal Pacific. The house is only 25 years old...I seem to remember our electrician saying they had some recalls but our componenets were made by someone else and labeled Federal Pacific, i think part of a bankruptcy settlement.

When we put in the gas on demand water heater I asked about adding amperage to the panel and he said we were tapped out without running another wire from the master power. Its a big house.
__________________
chadillac7819 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 09:00 PM   #6
chadillac7819
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 38
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jCOSbrew View Post
This looks like 240v (2x 120V phase) @ 30 amps.
Many electric builds use this power source for a 240V element up to 5500Watts. You just can't run multiple elements at the same time. Also make sure you have GFCI protection.

If you still have the water heater, it might be handy to start strike water at 160 degF instead of 60 degF.
What is the difference between the dryer breaker (its the 30A breaker above the off one) that has "30" only written on one of the two jumped breakers and the off one below it that has "30" written on both of the jumped breakers? and I was hoping 12-14 was 60A total.

I am planning on putting a Spa panel in for GFI...can i just connect it where the old WH wires terminate? There is a dead end junction box there now.

ANd i do not have the water heater amymore but the on demand water heater delivers 100 - 140 degF water whenever I want it.
__________________
chadillac7819 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 09:06 PM   #7
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadillac7819 View Post
What is the difference between the dryer breaker (its the 30A breaker above the off one) that has "30" only written on one of the two jumped breakers and the off one below it that has "30" written on both of the jumped breakers? and I was hoping 12-14 was 60A total.

I am planning on putting a Spa panel in for GFI...can i just connect it where the old WH wires terminate? There is a dead end junction box there now.

ANd i do not have the water heater amymore but the on demand water heater delivers 100 - 140 degF water whenever I want it.
I don't think there is any difference in the breakers other than the markings. You can certainly use that breaker or swap it out with a bigger one if you want. Since you are basically right at the panel, I would suggest replacing the existing receptacle with a 4-wire version if it is not already.

edit sorry not receptacle...dead end j-box...
__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:24 AM   #8
crazyirishman34
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,359
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 81

Default

Are you planning on using the same wire that they water heater used?

__________________
crazyirishman34 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 01:23 PM   #9
chadillac7819
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 38
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyirishman34 View Post
Are you planning on using the same wire that they water heater used?
that seemed like the easiest option...connect the spa panel directly where the water heater was asn then run wire from the panel in flex tube to my brweery about 15 feet away.

any changes at the box and i would need to call my electrician.
__________________
chadillac7819 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 02:05 PM   #10
garbageman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 153
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If you plan to run just one element at a time, your fine but do put the GFI spa disconnect in for protection. Being 25 years old, I'm sure it's a 3 prong outlet. I was in a similar boat and had read the threads how you can convert to add 4 wires out of your spa disconnect on a 3 prong outlet. But it just didn't seem right. I decided to add another breaker in the panel - $12 and its 50amp, Run 6/3 (4 wire) from panel to spa disconnect at brew bench $40, Then 6/3 wire to the panel. Took about an hour to do.

__________________

My Electric Brewery Picasa Web Albums
Ratebeer profile: Ratebeer.com

garbageman is offline
crazyirishman34 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using A Retired Service Panel For A Control Panel kgalle Electric Brewing 2 04-25-2012 11:52 AM
Control Panel Build sdugre Electric Brewing 9 10-14-2011 05:47 AM
Service panel question. wildwest450 DIY Projects 8 06-13-2010 09:22 PM
Height for a service panel? wildwest450 DIY Projects 14 06-03-2010 05:18 PM
upgrading service panel tarheels Equipment/Sanitation 25 01-09-2009 10:46 PM