The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > New Control Panel

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2012, 05:34 AM   #1
Spring_Chicken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 217
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default New Control Panel

Ok, just got done wiring up my control panel and I have a few questions.

1. If I use my Fluke multimeter on the AC setting can I hold onto one probe, or put it on a copper pipe, while to other is on my kettle to make sure it won't fry me?

2. Do both hot lines really go to the burner? It doesn't make sense to me because AC IS like a current, and this is more like DC where it would just travel to it.

Thanks for your help.
- Paul

__________________
Spring_Chicken is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 12:53 PM   #2
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 868
Liked 32 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 81

Default

You have a ground running to your kettle, right?

The element will be grounded via the threads to the kettle. The path of least resistance will be to ground, not you.

__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build
stlbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 01:04 PM   #3
Spring_Chicken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 217
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Yes. I have a ground. However, I don't trust electricity. It's invisible and therefore both magical and deadly.

__________________
Spring_Chicken is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
kgalle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SEPA, PA
Posts: 240
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Apologies for the hijack, but I have one of these for a system in progress. Is there any need for additional grounding?

__________________
kgalle is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 06:52 PM   #5
audger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 40 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

any kettle that has an electric element in it should have a sturdy path to ground.

to answer the orig. questions...
1- yes, you can measure any voltage between the kettle and a ground source. it should be zero or nearly zero (a few mV can be normal. if its more than 1 volt i would start being concerned).
2- yes, both hots go to the heating element for 240v systems. 240v is the combination of two incoming 120v lines (essentially one is +120v and -120v). the voltage potential between +120 and -120 is a total of 240 volts. so if you measure the voltage between ground and either of the "hot" legs, it will measure 120v. if you measure the voltage between the two "hot" legs, it will total 240v.

__________________
audger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 07:34 PM   #6
Spring_Chicken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 217
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks!

__________________
Spring_Chicken is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools