Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > New all-grain system recommendations

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2013, 08:52 PM   #1
appleton11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Default New all-grain system recommendations

Hi all,
i've been a 5-gal extract brewer for the past year and a half, and I'm ready to move to an all-grain setup.
I'd like to do an electric setup so I can brew in my basement (and thru the long cold MN winters).
I have a bad back so I'm thinking I need to do a horizontal system.
I'm thinking a recirculating mash system.
any recommendations on a system I could copy (build plans?)?. I'm an engineer so I'm pretty handy and plan to build the system myself (unless a used system is available at the right price!). A base system design would be best - something I could add features to in the future.
thanks much for the help. cheers! Randall

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2013, 09:00 PM   #2
aiptasia
Recipes 

Liked 531 Times on 469 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Explore the site for various brew sculpture builds. I think you'll find a lot of useful stuff in the DIY areas and in the articles section on builds that people have done. A horizontal build is fine but it will require a pump to move the liquids from one tank to the other. Your desire to go all electric has some limitations but people have done wonders adapting water heater heating elements to their builds. If you want to go all out, research some e-herms builds.

2014: Seven Heavens Series One: Vilon, Mystic Melomel, Skeeter Pee.

Old 07-07-2013, 09:53 PM   #3
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 144 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Have you checked out www.theelectricbrewery.com?

Old 07-08-2013, 02:27 AM   #4
appleton11
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiptasia View Post