Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Chance to Enter!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > My single tier BCS-460 Electric Brewrig
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2013, 04:44 PM   #11
scotprice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: flower mound, tx
Posts: 14
Default

Great system.

I am looking to do the same thing, and wanted to know where you got your temperature probes? I am going to be going with the BCS-460, and just wanted to know what adapters/temperature probes are needed?

__________________
scotprice is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 09:31 PM   #12
dutchb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: milan, pa
Posts: 54
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Scotprice,
Thanks for the kind words, I purchased my probes through brewershardware.com. Different sizes are available for different applications, but they have good selection to choose from. I really like dealing with these guys to, easy to talk to if you have any questions and very helpful.

These are the ones I bought

__________________
dutchb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 06:50 PM   #13
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dutchb View Post
Scotprice,
Thanks for the kind words, I purchased my probes through brewershardware.com. Different sizes are available for different applications, but they have good selection to choose from. I really like dealing with these guys to, easy to talk to if you have any questions and very helpful.

These are the ones I bought
Me too. Great to deal with.
__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2013, 04:57 PM   #14
scotprice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: flower mound, tx
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for the information.

I thought I was going to go bcs, but now I keep alternating between PID/BCS......tough choices.

__________________
scotprice is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 03:55 PM   #15
scarnera
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
scarnera's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 34
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotprice View Post
Thanks for the information.

I thought I was going to go bcs, but now I keep alternating between PID/BCS......tough choices.
Will BCS work with PID's?

Thinking of doing the following:
Phase 1 PID with BCS temp probes
Phase 2 PID with BCS - 460
__________________
scarnera is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2013, 08:18 PM   #16
ChuckO
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ChuckO's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keyrock, WV
Posts: 910
Liked 79 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarnera View Post
Will BCS work with PID's?

Thinking of doing the following:
Phase 1 PID with BCS temp probes
Phase 2 PID with BCS - 460
There are 6 built in PID's in the BCS-460, one for each output. The only drawback to them is that you must manually tune them, there is no auto-tune function available.
__________________
ChuckO is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2013, 02:31 PM   #17
scarnera
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
scarnera's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 34
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckO View Post
There are 6 built in PID's in the BCS-460, one for each output. The only drawback to them is that you must manually tune them, there is no auto-tune function available.
Thanks for the reply. Appreciate it. I only have more questions now.
__________________
scarnera is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2013, 10:53 PM   #18
dp2001
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Posts: 13
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I'm wondering if your alarms work with your tablet? I have an ipad and and was thinking about building a manual system and a detachable tablet that I can take indoors during the hot summer months as well a look up for on the fly calcuations. Unfortunately, the alarm is not heard through the ipad. I can see the Alarm button activate, but no sound.

Can you tell me if Android is different than iPad?

Thanks

__________________
dp2001 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2013, 12:25 PM   #19
ChuckO
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ChuckO's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Keyrock, WV
Posts: 910
Liked 79 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Alarm works when running Firefox on a Nexus 7 tablet with Android. I tested it just now to make certain.

Chuck

__________________
ChuckO is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-17-2013, 02:08 AM   #20
ReuFroman
Never enough brew gear money.
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ReuFroman's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 242
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

That's a sweet set up. I like how your hiding all the wires. I need to start thinking bout that.

I also have the hybrid using a PID and bcs question. I had some time to think and read this weekend with the flood and all the Fort Collins breweries closed. i also consulted a EE, my dad, about the wiring. Basically with a hybrid set up as I understand it you have 2 options.
1. 3-way switch selecting bcs - off - PID. The issue with this is there isn't a turn the element on ability so you'll have to rely on your controls. But how often do you have to rely on a hard turn on?
2. 4-way selector switch which would add a on the the above configuration. The price is about 25 to 30 so these are 2 to 3 times more expensive than a 3-way.

I am still thinking about what I will do with my setup but that is the answer I found.

__________________

--------------------
It's ok to stare at my kegs! Just don't touch them!

ReuFroman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Single-Tier Propane/Electric Hybrid Brew Rig diatonic DIY Projects 180 11-22-2011 05:39 AM
Sold - Single-tier three-vessel electric brewery samuelpeter For Sale 17 05-28-2011 03:05 PM
The Neverending Single tier electric brewstand build Hypnolobster DIY Projects 9 04-27-2011 04:21 PM
Single-tier propane/electric HERMS/RIMS rig?!!!??! Cyan DIY Projects 27 09-03-2010 03:47 PM
Single Tier Electric brewing? cabot DIY Projects 10 06-02-2009 07:14 PM