New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > My planned Ebiab keggle cheap, simple controller




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 10:47 PM   #1
cliffhanger1821
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 146
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default My planned Ebiab keggle cheap, simple controller

As I'm waiting for my Stout kettle to arrive I realize I need to brew, and soon. I'm building a single pid controlled ebiab controller, using mostly Auber Instruments gear, and stealing a lot from voltin, P-J, and many others who have gone before me and helped immensely. More on that later. I have a 60 amp gfci installed in my main panel, which I'm running out to my brewshed, and I want to run a ebiab keggle off of this (I had originally planned on doing a 3v herms, hence the 60a gfci). So on to the point of this new thread : : :

To hold me over until my new Stout kettle gets here, and I build a nice controller, I am building a simple, cheap (hopefully), electric controller for my e-keggle with parts sourced mostly from ebay. I already bought this ssvr/potentiometer
http://www.ebay.com/itm/140553987088?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p398 4.m1439.l2649
and other than that, want to install a simple DPST 30a switch to kill power prior to the SSVR/Pot. Question is, will any of these switches (especially the red one, because it looks cool) fit the bill?
http://www.globalindustrial.com/p/electrical/switches/wall-switches/Industrial-Grade-Toggle-Switch-30A-277V-AC-Double-Pole-Pilot-Red
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Square-D-motor-starting-switch-2510K01-30A-600V-/111043553726?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19dab6 29be
I am going to put it all in a junction box from Lowe's (probably) and was going use a 3 prong dryer plug as receptacle and my source of wire for the build.
[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/29/easykettlecontroller.jpg/]

And that's it, except for the heatsink for the SSVR . One switch, variable power control, element in keggle. Works?



__________________
cliffhanger1821 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2013, 11:28 PM   #2
mendesm
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mendesm's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bedford, Massachusetts
Posts: 302
Liked 42 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Looks like it'll work.



__________________
mendesm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2013, 11:43 PM   #3
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,242
Liked 215 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

Cant see the ebay links due to work but you diagram doesn't make sense, is the SSR/pot. you are talking about a seperate SSR and pot. or is it an SCR unit? Can you post a picture from the ebay listing?

mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2013, 12:19 AM   #4
cliffhanger1821
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 146
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/201/ssrpot.jpg/]

__________________
cliffhanger1821 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2013, 01:07 AM   #5
Swamproad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Posts: 6
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I am looking at doing the same except using this switch: http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/100356941?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053&N=5yc1vZbojhZwcZ1z 10sca&R=100356941#.UWYMki0o6P8

__________________
Swamproad is offline
604brewer Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2013, 01:36 AM   #6
cliffhanger1821
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 146
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamproad View Post
Nice, I hadn't found that one yet. I wonder if it's rated to 30a for 120v only though, and maybe only 13a for 277v? It lists both voltages under specifications, but only one amperage rating. If 30a at 277v, I'm all in for that one instead...
__________________
cliffhanger1821 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2013, 01:17 AM   #7
cliffhanger1821
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 146
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamproad View Post
Can anyone help me understand about this one, or can I go look at it at Home Depot and figure it out? I thought most switches with dual voltage ratings had a lower amperage rating at the higher voltage, but this one doesn't list anything. Obviously, I can't use a 15A/120v rated light switch to control my element, too much current etc. I was hoping this one will work but don't want to find out it doesn't with a smoke test.
__________________
cliffhanger1821 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2013, 02:33 AM   #8
jCOSbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 580
Liked 33 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

I have a similar setup w/ the phase angle ssr and a pid. Works great for eBIAB.

Hd and lowers have a dpdt light switch rated 220v and 30 amps.

I would consider using you full size panel with a panel mount switch and a contactor to enable/disable the element. This will make not easy to add a PID.

__________________
jCOSbrew is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2013, 03:55 AM   #9
Black_Z28
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Default

Any update on this project? I'm curious to hear the results.

__________________
Black_Z28 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2013, 09:55 AM   #10
cliffhanger1821
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 146
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Just got back from a short mission, now im taking two weeks off to brew and work on my little projects like this. I'll post up as soon as I'm done.



__________________
cliffhanger1821 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting my simple-EBIAB build featuring brewtroller 4.0 HBC Electric Brewing 2 11-21-2013 01:27 AM
odi3's simple 30a eBIAB build ODI3 Electric Brewing 6 10-12-2012 02:30 PM
My first post and simple eBIAB homebrew journey Disintegr8or DIY Projects 35 02-11-2012 01:51 PM
Planned simple 1 element build mrbippers Electric Brewing 15 12-01-2011 12:25 AM
eBIAB using Ranco controller el gato Electric Brewing 11 11-19-2011 03:11 AM