New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > My nickel and dime eBIAB build




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 05:34 PM   #11
Oter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 149
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Can you post a photo of the wiring inside your box?



Oter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 06:44 PM   #12
Schlomo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 149
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oter View Post
Can you post a photo of the wiring inside your box?
Its nothing special:
1 x 15amp light switch
1 x 15amp GFCI Outlet
1 x 20amp Light Switch
1 x 20amp single outlet
Assorted 12AWG wiring

(Sorry for blurry iphone pics)





Before anyone remarks on how i didnt use the same color wire for a few things, i know, didnt have any 12 gauge on hand. i would suggest to anyone who does a build similar to keep a relative wiring color scheme or use a wiring block like many others use for their PID setups. My build is small and simple so i opted not to spend the extra money.

I dont plan on ever needing to open the box, so its not an issue for me. Also, in the future i would probably just put the 15A GFCI outlet in the wall but as im in an apartment i didnt want to do that. It makes my build a bit more portable as well, although i should have done a 20A GFCI instead if i really wanted portability.



__________________
Schlomo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 07:04 PM   #13
Oter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 149
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks. I have been wanting to go electric, but I can't even begin to grasp the high tech stuff.

Oter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 07:19 PM   #14
ddahl84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 85
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlomo
2 Elements, 1500w and 2000w. I did it this way because i only have 1 available 20A circuit in my small apartment.

Cheers
Just a question since I'm pretty new to this as well but isn't 3500 watts going to be way more than 20 amps? I thought most people doing 120v with two elements plugged into two separate outlets on different circuits.
__________________
ddahl84 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 07:48 PM   #15
Schlomo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 149
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddahl84 View Post
Just a question since I'm pretty new to this as well but isn't 3500 watts going to be way more than 20 amps? I thought most people doing 120v with two elements plugged into two separate outlets on different circuits.
Thats what i'm doing, but i only have 1, 2000w circuit in my apartment. I plug the 2000w into the GFCI outlet in my kitchen and i have a longer extension cord to run to the 15A circuit in the living room. 2 separate circuits, so 3500w total is no problem if you split it up.
__________________
Schlomo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 09:38 PM   #16
ddahl84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 85
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlomo

Thats what i'm doing, but i only have 1, 2000w circuit in my apartment. I plug the 2000w into the GFCI outlet in my kitchen and i have a longer extension cord to run to the 15A circuit in the living room. 2 separate circuits, so 3500w total is no problem if you split it up.
Oh ok I didn't catch that part
__________________
ddahl84 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 03:22 AM   #17
Schlomo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 149
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oter View Post
Thanks. I have been wanting to go electric, but I can't even begin to grasp the high tech stuff.
What i did is pretty low tech. If you know how to use a philips head screwdriver you can do what i did. Just make sure everything is grounded and you pos goes to positive and neg to negative. 12 Gauge wire will keep you safe for up to 2000w and if you want to go beyond that im sure anyone at your local HD or Lowes can help you out. Dont quote me but i think 10 gauge is good up to 3000w? Maybe 2500? Anyway, dont let it intimidate you with all the great big builds that im jealous I dont have. There are easier and cheaper solutions, although not autonomous, still provide a cheap and affordable way to go AG in an apartment like me, or just go electric.

I'd be willing to help with questions if you have any, as well as many other members of HBT.
__________________
Schlomo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 05:32 PM   #18
Oter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 149
Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Cool. I just want to go electric because I am tired of buying propane, sweating my ass off next to a burner in the summer, and freezing my ass off in the winter.

__________________
Out of Focus Brewing Co.
Spring Hill, TN
Oter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 11:21 PM   #19
Schlomo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 149
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Well.. I got everything drilled and cut today in the Keggle. Set everything up with the elements, and the 1500w element is working! Only problem is that the 2000w element is sporadic which is bad. Not sure why, but it isnt working right. I'll have to check my connections and see whats wrong.

Still hoping to do my first AG this weekend! Here's to a successful fix



__________________
Schlomo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet Another eBIAB Build voltin Electric Brewing 139 04-08-2014 02:36 PM
brekhokie's eBIAB build brewhokie Electric Brewing 12 03-28-2012 02:07 PM
Cowbrau eBIAB brewery build cowgo DIY Projects 14 02-21-2012 08:27 PM
Help me plan an eBIAB build Namocsid Electric Brewing 3 09-23-2011 07:17 PM
Advice Please - eBIAB Build BeerMe21 Electric Brewing 6 07-16-2011 04:15 PM