New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > My FULL-ON electric build thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2011, 03:50 AM   #51
Brewen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I love it when engineers post their brew designs (I'm an EE student)! Nothing like a little CAD to brighten your day!

I'm a little confused about how you'll use the system for sparging. Will V1, V3, and V4 be open with the rest closed so that P1 moves water from the HLT to the MLT and P2 from the MLT through the CFC to the BK? My personal preference (although I have zero practical experience, only lots of forum lurking) would be to plumb an additional line from P2 to the BK so you can bypass the CFC. Why did you choose this particular design?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2011, 12:25 AM   #52
TheFlyingBeer
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by vballdrummer View Post
I'm wondering what you did ... I've seen a few different solutions - one used large washers to keep the o-rings in snug, another used hi-temp silicone sealant - which kinda defeats the purpose of the o-rings.
I'm on travel for a month so I can't share any pictures on how I sealed me element for the brews a couple weeks ago. I wasn't completely happy with my setup but it work... I used a o-ring on each side of the junction box and then applied a thin layer of 100% silicone sealant around the hex head of the element inside the junction box just to be safe. I also applied a bit of silicone to the threads before I inserted them into the locknut. Going to be looking for some larger rubber/silicone flat washers/gaskets to replace to o-rings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewen View Post
I love it when engineers post their brew designs (I'm an EE student)! Nothing like a little CAD to brighten your day!