Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > My BCS-460 eHERMS build

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2012, 01:10 AM   #1
jbbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default My BCS-460 eHERMS build

I have been wanting to go electric for a long time now. I have been accumulating parts and finally decided on using the BCS-460 for control. Please don't try to change my mind, it has already been purchased! I still have a long way to go so let's start with the wiring diagram.

The system will use the vessels that I currently use to brew 10 gal batches. It will be a HERMS setup with 5500W elements in the HLT and BK. I am only bringing 40 amps from the panel so it is being designed with the intent of only having one element on at a time.

I am no electrician. At least I'm not showing you the version I did in crayon! Luckily my brew partner is an electrician and will ok everything once we get closer to completion.

Comments?

image link: http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/612/bcswiring20120223.jpg

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 03:17 AM   #2
jbbeer
Recipes 

It has been a while since my last post! Not so much interest here, huh? Anyway, between sourcing parts and after a long summer I am finally starting to build. I have an updated wiring diagram (below).

I have changed the E-stop circuit a bit based on the thread located here:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/help-schematics-herms-electric-bcs-460-2-element-brewing-system-300259/index2.html