Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Move to 240?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2011, 09:40 PM   #1
CoalCracker
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CoalCracker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Macungie, Pa
Posts: 1,595
Liked 100 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default Move to 240?

I will be moving in a few months and the brewery will be in the garage about 15ft from the panel. Right now I have two 2000w 120v elements running my HLT/BK. Both together are running at 33.3amps. If I move to a 240v 4500w element it would run ~ 19amps. A significant difference. Would the cost saving of electricity out way the cost of upgrading? I would need a new BK (penrose) and possibly build a new control panel. Or, should I stay 120v? My current set up works great. Just don't want to spend more running it than I need to.

__________________

coalcrackerbrewing.blogspot.com
Vintage Kegerator Build
1 BBL Tippy Dump

CoalCracker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 09:43 PM   #2
howabouttheiris
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 231
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I probably would not bother. I believe that if you run the numbers 240@19 is more power than 120@33, thus more expensive per batch (plus you loose any efficiencies of running 1 120V element to maintain temp).

__________________
howabouttheiris is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 09:49 PM   #3
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

Very, very simple solution. Rewire your controller to a new plan for 120V / 240V and then use the same elements. That knocks the amp draw down to 16.67 amps. Same total watts but a lot easier to configure, control and use. Also very easy to select either or both elements. Add a PID and you have ultimate control.

BTW: I don't think you need to change (reconfigure) your kettles to accomplish this.

__________________

Reason: After thought.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 09:51 PM   #4
howabouttheiris
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 231
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

2 hours on full * 5000W = 10 kWh * $0.1/kWh = $1.00 per batch.

Even if save a quarter a batch, it will take a LONG time to make any upgrade cost back.

__________________
howabouttheiris is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
CoalCracker
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CoalCracker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Macungie, Pa
Posts: 1,595
Liked 100 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

I use an Auber PID. So I would just take two of the legs out of the 240 and take it to the PID? Then do the same for the SSR?

__________________

coalcrackerbrewing.blogspot.com
Vintage Kegerator Build
1 BBL Tippy Dump

CoalCracker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2011, 09:55 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

If you can, show me your setup (diagram?) so that I'm not guessing.

Thanks.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 06:25 PM   #7
CoalCracker
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CoalCracker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Macungie, Pa
Posts: 1,595
Liked 100 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2.../Schematic.jpg

That gives you an idea but I don't think I followed it exactly.
__________________

coalcrackerbrewing.blogspot.com
Vintage Kegerator Build
1 BBL Tippy Dump

CoalCracker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 06:35 PM   #8
jd3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: , The Back of the Bus
Posts: 443
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

You will NEVER recoup your costs. If you are not having problems, I wouldn't touch it.

__________________
jd3 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 07:48 PM   #9
clearwaterbrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 263
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

from the looks of it, you could just change your elements to 4500W/240V and hook to 240 and have more than double the power... The time saved heating water/boiling each batch is WELL WORTH the upgrade from 2KW to 4.5KW :-D

-mike
(disclaimer - assuming your wiring size is good, and proper wiring practices are taken, including grounding)

__________________
clearwaterbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 08:07 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoalCracker View Post
http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a2.../Schematic.jpg

That gives you an idea but I don't think I followed it exactly.
I'm having a senior moment in trying to cypher the diagram.

The pieces on the extreme left and right in the diagram. Are they representing "2" elements placed in 2 different kettles? A total of 4 elements?
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS