New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Modular Electric Brewery




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 06:31 PM   #21
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,669
Liked 60 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Nice...I like how you planned for small and large batches all in the same rig. I may very well design my single vessel rig that way, simply swapping out the pot and plugging in the element in to the appropriate receptacle.



ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 06:35 PM   #22
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,669
Liked 60 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

I wonder, does your PID switch 2 outputs? It is obviously switching relays for your 2 110v elements.....but it will also need to switch 2 for your 220v element, right?



ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 07:15 PM   #23
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I thought about what I could carry over between two systems and this is what happened. Pumps, control box, valves (the only valves are on the outlet of the pumps), they all carry over. All that changes out are the tanks, elements, hose, and the P, I, and D values.

The PID switches 2 SSRs in parallel.

The output of SSR 1 goes to the phase A hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 1. The output of SSR 2 goes to the phase B hot leg of the 240V outlet, and the hot leg of 120V element 2. I pick which I am using by what I plug in.

It is probably not the best way to do it, but I am the only one that uses it, and for me it is fine.

__________________
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 10:15 PM   #24
Mose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 303
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.

__________________
Mose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 10:33 PM   #25
passedpawn
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 17,487
Liked 2638 Times on 1701 Posts
Likes Given: 2147

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mose View Post
I am continually discovering that I am missing a piece of the puzzle.

At the risk of embarassing myself with this question, do you need two SSR's to run a 220v element? I have a 40amp with sink on the way, but am starting to think I need to order a second. Thanks.
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.

I'm in the 90%. I'd say for an extra $20 you turn the whole thing off.

BTW, there are DSSR's (dual SSR's) that have two solid state relays in one standard SSR pkg. This is a sweet setup. I have 2 of these DSSRs in my control box. They can be a bit pricey, and they are not part of the cheap fare available on ebay (actually, that is where I bought mine, but it wasn't one of those "direct from Hong Kong" specials).
__________________
Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth. There is no spoon.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2010, 10:50 PM   #26
pickles
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus
Posts: 1,892
Liked 38 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?

__________________
pickles is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2010, 01:43 AM   #27
jkarp
Beer Herder
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jkarp's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Elizabeth, CO
Posts: 2,103
Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
90% will say yes, because 220V has 2 hot legs. That 90% wants to ensure that, even though current has been interrupted to the element, there is no live voltage connected.

The other 10% doesn't worry about the element still being "live": the current is off, and that is enough.
I guess I'm in the 10%. You should never 100% trust SSRs are killing the current anyway. When they fail, they normally fail closed. Also note there will always be voltage. SSRs switch current, not voltage.
__________________
jkarp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2010, 05:13 AM   #28
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickles View Post
Awesome project! What is that jumbo distribution block called and where can I find one?
It is from automation direct:
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Power_Products_(Electrical)/Power_Distribution_Blocks/Open_Style,_UL_Recognized,_175A-760A_(PB_Series)/PB3063

They are certainly beefy. It is rated for 310 amps, which is perhaps a bit overkill.
__________________
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #29
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

For the extra $15 I wanted to put in another SSR. It is peace of mind, and in my case was required to run the two 120V elements.

__________________
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2010, 12:18 AM   #30
willynilly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I think I have to put an obligatory post in here friend.

#1. Thanks for buying half of my homebrew gear, I know it has found a good home.

#2. Thanks for bringing the "mini brew" up so that I could see it in person, very out of the box little rig and worthy of compliment.

Nice build friend, looking forward to seeing you soon, probably in Bloomington when I head down to set up the new rig?

Thanks for always being there to bounce ideas off of, I appreciate your friendship!



__________________
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Brewtalizer Electric Brewery Amity DIY Projects 11 05-17-2010 04:07 AM
For Sale - Electric Brewery for SALE!! kxx For Sale 14 04-08-2010 07:27 PM
My electric brewery build Suicided1954 DIY Projects 21 03-10-2010 03:06 AM
My electric brewery is functional! Addicted DIY Projects 35 03-02-2010 03:33 PM
electric brewery help squidtpd Bottling/Kegging 3 03-02-2010 12:16 AM