The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > minimum volume

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2011, 12:53 AM   #1
frankstoneline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ellensburg, washington
Posts: 375
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default minimum volume

getting ready to start an electric kettle build, i was curious what the minimum volume to cover an element was installed in a straight side sankey using weldless fittings? tried a search adn didnt see anything, sorry if this is covered thoroughly somewhere.

__________________
frankstoneline is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 01:10 AM   #2
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

3 gallons covers mine but I usually go 4 gallons just to be on the safe side. I guess you could install it lower but I like being able to get underneath it to clean.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 01:52 AM   #3
GRHunter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 586
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Same for mine, about 3-4 gallons. I am using a 15.5 gallon kettle.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger9913 View Post
3 gallons covers mine but I usually go 4 gallons just to be on the safe side. I guess you could install it lower but I like being able to get underneath it to clean.
__________________
Brewing beer is a fun and rewarding hobby. When you do good, you get beer. When you do bad, you get beer.
It's a lot like recreation league softball.
GRHunter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 03:11 AM   #4
frankstoneline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ellensburg, washington
Posts: 375
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

ranger is yours built in a keg/did you use weldless fittings?

__________________
frankstoneline is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 03:51 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

my element was installed as low as I possibly could get it, and it is submerged when I have a little less than 3 gallons in the kettle (converted 15.5 gallon sanke)

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 06:12 PM   #6
rollinred
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 327
Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Are you guys running a float switch for those times when your draining the HLT and forget to shut off the element?

__________________
rollinred is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2011, 06:14 PM   #7
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I don't have a float switch. I've also never needed it.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2011, 12:28 AM   #8
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

I have a float switch. I've never needed it either but I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it. Cheap insurance... they're like $10 for stainless ones on ebay.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools