Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking to start AG soon and want to go with BIAB single vessel electric brewing

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2011, 09:39 AM   #11
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Ok, after much pondering over the situation, how about this. It would be expensive to replace the breaker in the mains panel with a GFCI breaker and you would still end up with a 3 wire system. Replacing the wire and the outlet adds a lot more to the build cost. Your place is also a rental so getting it done becomes a huge issue.

So with that all said, you buy a Spa Panel from homedepot.com - GE 50A Spa Panel - $49.00

Then wire it using a dryer power cord. You wire it like this:



Or looking at a Spa Panel:



You can mount a 4 wire outlet directly into the panel so that your brewery controller can be plugged into it.

For a little more that 50 bucks you are ready to go on with your brewery control.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2011, 05:32 PM   #12
Garrett
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Garrett's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 255
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Looks great P-J! I can't wait to get this started.

__________________
Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2011, 09:26 PM   #13
tmbc10784
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Edit, I think I'm going to try 120v, as I would be limited to my garage with 240v.

__________________
tmbc10784 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 04:48 AM   #14
mr_tripp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake St. Louis
Posts: 92
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Can you connect a PID and SSR into the SPA panel?

__________________
mr_tripp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 05:03 AM   #15
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_tripp View Post
Can you connect a PID and SSR into the SPA panel?
Yes you can - BUT - I'm not sure what you are asking.

Please explain. A little idea of what you are trying to achive would help.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 05:47 AM   #16
mr_tripp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake St. Louis
Posts: 92
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Yes you can - BUT - I'm not sure what you are asking.

Please explain. A little idea of what you are trying to achive would help.
I'm trying to do a single electric pot with a PID using a 240v 60amp dryer outlet. What is more economical, adding a spa panel or changing adding a GFCI on the panel box?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/wir...-setup-241686/

Here is the setup I wanted to create.
__________________
mr_tripp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 09:45 PM   #17
John0872
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gburg, MD
Posts: 8
Default

PJ,

Looking at your diagram, I noticed you have the ground and neutral bonded in the spa panel. I'm really new to this, but I thought that was only supposed to be done in the main panel?? I'm not questioning it, since I know next to nothing, just looking for clarification.

Thanks,

John

__________________
John0872 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 11:01 PM   #18
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_tripp View Post
I'm trying to do a single electric pot with a PID using a 240v 60amp dryer outlet. What is more economical, adding a spa panel or changing adding a GFCI on the panel box?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/wir...-setup-241686/

Here is the setup I wanted to create.
"using a 240v 60amp dryer outlet"

Hmmm.. Dryer outlets are 30A & Electric ranges are 50A. What do you have for your power outlet? Also, is it a 3 prong or a 4 prong outlet. Is your place something that you own or is it a rental property.

Lots of questions but situations change - depending.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2011, 11:18 PM   #19
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John0872 View Post
PJ,

Looking at your diagram, I noticed you have the ground and neutral bonded in the spa panel. I'm really new to this, but I thought that was only supposed to be done in the main panel?? I'm not questioning it, since I know next to nothing, just looking for clarification.

Thanks,

John
John,

You are correct. However in the particular situation the outlet is a 3 wire device (dryer outlet) that is providing the 2 hots (240V) and a neutral. Using the spa panel to implement a GFCI breaker function allows the neutral/ground circuits to be broken out. This cannot be done in any way shape or manner if the panel were to be hard wired.

Just consider a dryer plugged into a 3 wire dryer outlet. The dryer has both 240V circuits (heating elements and motor) and 120V devices (timer, buzzer and lights). The outlet supplies 240V and a neutral. The dryer cabinet is grounded through the use of the neutral conductor with a bonding strap.

The NEC code changed a while ago to require dryers and electric stoved to be wired with 4 conductor circuits. The code change does not apply to circuits that were wired before this change.

HTH
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2011, 02:05 AM   #20
mr_tripp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake St. Louis
Posts: 92
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
"using a 240v 60amp dryer outlet"

Hmmm.. Dryer outlets are 30A & Electric ranges are 50A. What do you have for your power outlet? Also, is it a 3 prong or a 4 prong outlet. Is your place something that you own or is it a rental property.

Lots of questions but situations change - depending.

P-J
It's a 4 prong. 30A dryer. Sorry

I own the house.

Thanks.
__________________
mr_tripp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric BIAB and Nylon Voile Experiment gunner65 Electric Brewing 41 06-30-2012 01:23 PM
Electric brewing is the way.. Jknapp Electric Brewing 11 08-20-2011 09:37 PM
New Electric BIAB system Navy_Brewer Electric Brewing 22 07-29-2011 08:49 PM
electric equipment start up costs wacko Electric Brewing 40 12-29-2010 02:48 PM
new to electric brewing Q's HH60gunner Electric Brewing 6 12-13-2010 10:40 PM