Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking for input on my control panel wiring diagram

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2012, 09:29 PM   #1
bberr004
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: chesapeake, va
Posts: 7
Likes Given: 1

Default Looking for input on my control panel wiring diagram

Hey guys I've been reading a lot on here and finally decided to add a control panel and BIAB setup to my manual electric kettle. I already have the pid (Auber), ssr (with old cpu heat sink), 2 green illuminated switches, 2 red illuminated switches, and project box. I am currently wiring it up but want to ensure everything is safe. Also note it will being powered by 2 different 20A GFCI circuits, and will be 6' - 8' away from kettle when in use. Does it seem safe the way I am wiring it up?
Thanks,

Brandon

control-panel-diagram.jpg  
__________________
bberr004 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 09:55 PM   #2
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 184
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

you could tie your pump into the 1500watt circuit. you can safetly put 16a on a 20a rated circuit. 1500wattss is only 12.5 amps. pump probably only draws an amp or two.

__________________
grandequeso is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 10:15 PM   #3
bberr004
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: chesapeake, va
Posts: 7
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks for the input. I was thinking about doing that to save a few bucks. This way it will be easy to add another heating element (and external circuit) without needing to add any switches, outlets, or wires inside the control panel. As easy as adding another input cord and switching a few jumpers. I am just on too tight of a budget right now for the 3rd element.

__________________
bberr004 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2012, 03:41 PM   #4
PacificNWBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have a similar question but mine is about the need for a fuse. I see your setup doesn't have one, does that mean you don't NEED it? Also, what size wire did you use?

__________________
PacificNWBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2012, 10:26 PM   #5
bberr004
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: chesapeake, va
Posts: 7
Likes Given: 1

Default

I am still in the process of building it; actually taking a break from cutting the holes in the panel now. All wire is 12 gauge stranded. I do not currently have a fuse, but honestly I just didn't think about it. I guess I have a little more research to do.

__________________
bberr004 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input on Wiring Diagram ders Electric Brewing 45 05-25-2011 05:55 PM
Control panel wiring questions jbug440 Electric Brewing 2 04-15-2011 11:45 AM
Wiring diagram workable? Control box TheSlash Electric Brewing 2 02-10-2011 07:54 PM
Simple control panel wiring help HossTheGreat Electric Brewing 27 01-15-2011 04:31 PM
need input on control panel SpaceCoastBrew Electric Brewing 13 10-28-2010 02:28 PM