Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
Windsors
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable

I am ready to order some stuff from Automation Direct and was searching their site for a 2 pole, 30 A, 120 V Coil Contactor like Auberins has http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_ id=129 .

Nothing came up. Maybe I am reading the spec's wrong, but all I found were 3 pole and 4 pole.

Everything else I have is Din rail mountable, so I want these to be the same. They are going to be used to shut off the 240 V power to 4500 Amp elements.

Can anyone help on this ?

Thanks

Bill

__________________
Windsors is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Bill,
It's going to be tough to find something that large that is din rail mountable.

The 3/4 pole deals you found at automation direct are intended for things like poly phase motor starters. The good news is you can still use them for your purpose, you will just have some contacts that aren't used.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 05:41 PM   #3
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

you might be able to find a bracket that you can screw a regular contactor onto to allow it to fit on a DIN rail.

I think I saw some things like that when I was building my system earlier this year.

edit: here's an example... it's awfully expensive, but proof that such things exist: http://www.industrialnetworking.com/Manufacturers/Digi-Accessories/76000682-DIN-Rail-Bracket

edit 2: actually, that may not be what I thought it was. I think that is a backet to HOLD a piece of DIN rail and not a bracket that will allow you to mount someting ONTO a DIN rail.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
EFaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 546
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Here is a 3 pole - http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motor_Controls/Eaton_Cutler-Hammer_Contactors_-z-_Starters_-z-_Overloads/45mm_Contactors/CE15FNS3AB

__________________
EFaden is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

maybe this?
http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=din+rail+adapter&hl=en&cid=1263616683359 0216377&ei=w0LUTPHsHpXMiwTyo43DDQ&sa=title&ved=0CA cQ8wIwADgA#p

Looks like it's just a piece of metal or plastic that slides onto the rail. You could potentially screw the auber contactor onto it.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 05:48 PM   #6
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

great god almighty... $157?
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 09:50 PM   #7
Windsors
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Looking at this one...http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motor_Controls/Fuji_Contactors_-z-_Overloads/9_to_25_Amp/SC-E05-110VAC

Amp wise, should work for my 4500 Watt elements easily. Pushing it if I went to 5500 Watts.

To the experts, would this work for me ? Like CodeRage said, I would just have one extra set of poles ?

Thanks

Bill

__________________
Windsors is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 10:12 PM   #8
EFaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 546
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Seems like it would work, I was just looking for the 30A. If all you need is 25A I would say it would work. Plus its a LOT cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windsors View Post
Looking at this one...http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motor_Controls/Fuji_Contactors_-z-_Overloads/9_to_25_Amp/SC-E05-110VAC

Amp wise, should work for my 4500 Watt elements easily. Pushing it if I went to 5500 Watts.

To the experts, would this work for me ? Like CodeRage said, I would just have one extra set of poles ?

Thanks

Bill
__________________
EFaden is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 11:09 PM   #9
Windsors
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

EFaden, thanks for the input.

Yea huge difference b/n the 25 and 30 amp one. Must be something else different as well, but I don't know enough about them to figure it out.

__________________
Windsors is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2010, 04:01 AM   #10
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

JB Weld.

__________________
UNIBREW 5500 SINGLE VESSEL BREWERY
WOODEN SINGLE TIER
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any 120V Setups for 10 Gal Batch? JJWP Electric Brewing 30 05-30-2011 11:17 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM